R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2007, 09:01 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Bighomedog11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Bighomedog11 Send a message via Yahoo to Bighomedog11
Default My ESC can Handle 20t limit..

Hey I am wondering if my ESC can handle a 19t? It is made for 20t an up but i really want to get this 19t motor i got a good deal on. But i dont wont to burn my ESC out. The ESC i have are iis called a RipMax in a stock XTM

Last edited by Bighomedog11; 10-06-2007 at 09:13 AM.
Bighomedog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:07 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
bakaguyjean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atsugi Japan
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You know that is a reciever and not a speed control. This is pretty basic and if you havent figured out whata speed control is you are in a world of hurt. You might want to do some reading about the basic electronics that are in a RC car then start to worry about changeing things.
Just an idea as RC cars can burn just about anything up pretty fast.
__________________
My body projects blog http://rcbodyproject.wordpress.com/
bakaguyjean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:14 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Bighomedog11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Bighomedog11 Send a message via Yahoo to Bighomedog11
Default

My bad i edit my post. the ESC is a Ripmax i couldnt find a pix.
Bighomedog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:31 AM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: COLUMBUS,OH
Posts: 49
Default

If your esc specifies 20 turn and up.
Do not go under 20 turns,it may work but why take the chance?
RON F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:38 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
bakaguyjean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atsugi Japan
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sorry i wasnt tring to be a jerk but some people just dont know much about rc cars.
But like the other guys said 20t sounds safe 19t sounds bad.There are alot of good 20t motors out there at good prices. So you dont have to take the deal on the 19t turn.
__________________
My body projects blog http://rcbodyproject.wordpress.com/
bakaguyjean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 09:39 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Bighomedog11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Bighomedog11 Send a message via Yahoo to Bighomedog11
Default

Yea true becuase if i go past a 20t i will run the risk i spending more money for a new ESC.
Bighomedog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 03:04 PM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
LosiSpeedDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 42
Default

well its the voltage that determines the motor limit right? if the motor is with that voltage limit wouldnt it work just fine? i think its the voltage but my RCCAs are in another town so i dont remember it might be amps
__________________
Dalton "Crash" St. John
LosiSpeedDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 03:07 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Jake S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 4,607
Trader Rating: 66 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jake S Send a message via MSN to Jake S
Default

my suggestion is to just upgrade your esc, you can get brushed esc pretty cheap now, like the novak gts, or a novak gt7.
__________________
VooDoo Racing Cells | Flying Farmer RC | Trackside Hobby | Prochko Paintz | RG1
Jake S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 03:28 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

less turns = more startup current (due to the motors having less torque) so the esc needs to be beefier. add a fan, you MAY just be able to handle a 19t.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2007, 03:42 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hamilton,ohio
Posts: 357
Default

Most esc's have some extra margin of error built in. If you are racing for five minutes I doubt you will have a problem.If you are bashing and run until the batt. dies, it could be a problem. This might be an opportunity for you to see what the esc can do and if it blows, you can get a better one.I wouldn't upgrade until it is needed.
sedanaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do YOU handle a Jump? Mr.Maim Electric Off-Road 22 04-07-2007 01:18 AM
What do you do when you cant get your xray 2 handle TheTurtleMan Electric On-Road 7 01-03-2007 05:32 PM
how does toe out help u handle? downunder23 Rookie Zone 1 08-29-2006 03:12 AM
How much can an EVX really handle?? Phatkat Monster Trucks 2 09-01-2005 02:09 PM
will this esc handle................... buggyman81 Electric On-Road 2 03-22-2003 06:13 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net