Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
MORE EMAXX PROBLEMS! >

MORE EMAXX PROBLEMS!

MORE EMAXX PROBLEMS!

Reply

Old 09-27-2007, 09:47 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default MORE EMAXX PROBLEMS!

I have a hv maxx with 2 6cell batterys..

When ever I try to drive it I cant hit throtal it will just stutter, and wont move anywhere.. I put in a brushed system and it worked fine but i bought a 240$ bl setup I need it to work. Could it be cogging?

Andrew
andrewtexas123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 10:04 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Check the condition of your batteries. you should use Deans connectors.
If you are using a Spektrum radio you must use a capasitor on the receiver.
Are you getting any of the fail lights on the ESC?
make sure the sensor wire harness is plugged in all the way.

If all check out good send it back for warranty. Novak has great customer service and will have it back to you in a week.
badassrevo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:04 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Batterys are about half a year old but they worked fine with the other setup.. I dont have a specktrum but i am useing the capciter is that alright? I will go cheak the sensor thing..

Andrew
andrewtexas123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:12 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think i am getting worning lights, it flashes blue and green after I try to run it then after a couple seconds it will go back to red..

What does it mean?
Andrew
andrewtexas123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:30 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (93)
 
happywing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 997
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

What kind of BL setup is it?
happywing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:33 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Read every thing.. its a hv maxx

Ok well I got worning lights..

It says that the drive train is locked up witch makes no since cause it rolls find and works with the other set up...
andrewtexas123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:41 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
SpeedyDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 1,410
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Are you running stock gearing or the suggested by Novak gearing?
SpeedyDad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:46 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by andrewtexas123 View Post
Read every thing.. its a hv maxx

Ok well I got worning lights..

It says that the drive train is locked up witch makes no since cause it rolls find and works with the other set up...
The system may be defective, try to reprogram it. if that does not work send it back to Novak for warranty.
badassrevo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 01:02 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How do i reprogram it?
andrewtexas123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 01:34 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
SpeedyDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 1,410
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

gearing? And yes, this question does pertain to your issues.
SpeedyDad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 01:35 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (93)
 
happywing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 997
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by andrewtexas123 View Post
Read every thing.. its a hv maxx
Ah yes, it's in the first line. So sorry.

Use your manual and go back to step 1. Re-calibrate your transmitter to the ESC. There are 3 profiles on that controller. Have you tried all of them? Does the rotor spin freely? Did you try to unplug (and re-plug) everything?
happywing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 02:09 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Whats the rotor? sorry for the questions
andrewtexas123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 08:34 AM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,141
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

remove motor to see if it spins nice and quitely. If it does hook it up to see if it works in midair.
gulio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 01:25 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
SpeedyDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 1,410
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SpeedyDad View Post
gearing? And yes, this question does pertain to your issues.
I imagine because you are ignoring my question on gearing that you are running stock gearing. If so, you've probably overheated the motor and fried the sensor pack. If so, the motor is dead. You must follow the published gearing specs or the motor will cook.
SpeedyDad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 11:43 AM
  #15  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Motor didnt work before and after I used it on the truck.. The pinion is 17t not sure on the spur... But it has been used in this truck brushless before..
andrewtexas123 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service