R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road-4/)
-   -   3 shoe clutch (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-off-road/18306-3-shoe-clutch.html)

SteveA 05-15-2003 05:03 PM

3 shoe clutch

Whats the main advantage to a three shoe clutch over a 2 shoe, like the new K2 3 shoe aluminum clutch, or are the teflon sheos better the the aluminum shoes?

SteveA 05-17-2003 07:17 PM

anyone??

au_Nightmare 05-17-2003 09:08 PM

More surface contact , less slip :) can take more power.. I have had no experience with alu. shoes.

lineburner 05-18-2003 06:53 AM

The alloy shoes are a lot more work, as they ware they roll the edges out which catches on the flywheel so they don't disengage. To prevent this you have to shim them away from the flywheel & chamfer the edge of the shoes. I couldn't tell you if they where any better because I couldn't tell the difference?? Not only are they more work but they are also dearer. Go for the white Mugen shoes there much more user friendly:D

au_Nightmare 05-18-2003 01:32 PM

I didn't even think about the mushroom effect but it makes sence. I have read they are more work and that must be why. I think I will be sticking to the black shoes with strong springs :)

KINGZJ 05-19-2003 02:40 AM

I personally am not a fan of the alum shoes infact after trying them I took them out however their are some advantages to them. They do not heat up the clutchbell very much at all and the clutch bearings last much longer they also seem to grab the bell a bit better but the tradeoff is not worth the hassel that is for sure. the mugen shoes are not a direct fit on the k2 you need to drill the holes out to make them fit. If you don't want to run the alum shoes then I would sugest using kyosho shoes they last forever. If you want a little more punch then go to the ofna 1.1 spring

au_Nightmare 05-19-2003 02:44 AM