R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 09-23-2007, 02:41 AM   #1
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Power Supply Repairs

http://www.ripmax.com/item.asp?itemid=O-IP2002

Hello all,

I have been using this power supply for about 5 months now and today it stopped working. I wasn't there when it quit, i was up on the driver's stand. Just wanting to know if anyone knows of an on-line electronics info site? I'm comfortable working on these things and since it seems dead now, I'd like to try to find out how I can repair it. But I need diagrams, flowcharts, resistor/transistor info. If I can fix it then cool. If not then no biggie to me.

Also any suggestions for a good PS. I race electric every weekend and charge the batts for my nitro cars also. I use the ICE charger but I need a second ICE for winter electric. One charger just isn't enough. So I'd like to have a PS that has dual outputs. The dual outputs is not a requirement though cause I could use a distribution box. So any reccomendations by you people would be awesome.
Thanx

--"U Ain't Fast!!"
Chris Pearce
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 03:31 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)

Try by opening it up and look around. Could be a simple such as a shorted board you can bridge or perhaps they have a fuse that blew. In the end I don't think it will be worth it to repair unless it is something simple. Check this sight out. You should be able to diagnose what happened and see if a repair is worth it. It is VERY dangerous to work on one of these when they are powered up and it is not recomended for you to repair this if you dont have any experience dong so.
http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/smpsfaq.htm