R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2007, 06:55 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
RED-LINE M03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: >>> USA <<<
Posts: 4,102
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default To Balance or Not to Balance Lipo Packs while charging

I've noticed that high % of the racers @ or track do not use Lipo balancers while charging Lipos.



So whats your take on this. Is it safe not to balance lipos

Last edited by RED-LINE M03; 08-09-2007 at 06:58 AM. Reason: .
RED-LINE M03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 07:04 AM   #2
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I still to this date have never balanced one. Its only necessary when the pack goes out of balance. Its easily checked with a micro meter. If its out of balance, balance them on the next charge.

As a matter of fact lets say you charge your pack , run it for 5 or 6 minutes.
let it cool recharge run 5 or 6 ore minutes. You may never have to ever balance. And the pack will possibly last indefinitely. The less you discharge the pack per use the longer the pack will last and the that also lessons the chance of it going out of balance.

If you run more than 20% of the packs full charge per run the more likely it will go out of balance and lesson the cycle life.

More reason to purchase the higher MAH packs. If lipo really takes off the run times will be longer.
If they leave the run times short all is good.

I for one am headed towards the 8000's to stay ahead of the game.

I would say regardless of ones methods it still best to balance on every charge if you own a balancer.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 07:47 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,322
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Just like stated above, most of the time the pack will remain balanced on short runs. I check mine every charge but rarly need to balance them. The only pack that requires balancing on a regular basis is my 4s 6000 14.8volt pack. After a 20 min main in my 1/8th buggy it requires balancing.
__________________
Doug Lightcap

ARCS Hobbies / Paint Monster Airbrushing / BFast / Tonys Screws
badassrevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 07:58 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

What about balancing lipo RX packs? Is it safer to balance these batteries, will it be more critical since these get discharge over 50% each time out? Thanx
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 08:09 AM   #5
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by air8 View Post
What about balancing lipo RX packs? Is it safer to balance these batteries, will it be more critical since these get discharge over 50% each time out? Thanx
Good Q. I'm starting 1/8th scale next week. Aren't they single cell.?

And I would assume no cut off for them. I may have to visit the nitro thread.?
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 09:14 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UN4RACING View Post
Good Q. I'm starting 1/8th scale next week. Aren't they single cell.?

And I would assume no cut off for them. I may have to visit the nitro thread.?
Naw, most if not all are 2s. Both packs I have are two cell. But one of them doesnt' have balance leads. So I don't know if I could put them on or not. I have no problem taking the shrink wrap off and adding the leads. I'm researching right now to see where I need to add the wires. This pack is the Protek 2000. I just got the Common Sense V2 1500 yesterday, it has a balance lead, but Common Sense says it is reverse polarity from their first version. Still researching this also.

Looks like there is 4 cells in these batteries but I think they are wired up in a 2s2p configuration. Not really sure. So this make them a 2 cell. I hope someone corrects me if I'm wrong.
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 09:19 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UN4RACING View Post
And I would assume no cut off for them. I may have to visit the nitro thread.?
Also, if you use lipo RX packs you need a regulator. Unless your servos are the robot servos from Hitec. With the regulator it will cut off power once the pack gets down to a certain voltage. I accidently tested this. I swapped radio trays in my 8 and 8T and forgot where I was with which batt. was charged, the regulator just cut voltage to both servos and the vehicle rolled to a stop. Then I realized what needed to be done. So I shut it down so I wouldn't over discharge the pack. It's comforting to know that.
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 11:07 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
cfwdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 288
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I've been using 2s lipos in planes for years before they came out with balancers or balancing taps.

I've probably got 20 packs ranging from 2s 180mah-2200mah and 3s 340mah-1850mah. I still use them, and get the same performance from them.


Just don't discharge them too far, charge them only at 1C, and you'll get plenty of life out of these batteries.
cfwdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 09:14 PM   #9
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by air8 View Post
Naw, most if not all are 2s. Both packs I have are two cell. But one of them doesnt' have balance leads. So I don't know if I could put them on or not. I have no problem taking the shrink wrap off and adding the leads. I'm researching right now to see where I need to add the wires. This pack is the Protek 2000. I just got the Common Sense V2 1500 yesterday, it has a balance lead, but Common Sense says it is reverse polarity from their first version. Still researching this also.

Looks like there is 4 cells in these batteries but I think they are wired up in a 2s2p configuration. Not really sure. So this make them a 2 cell. I hope someone corrects me if I'm wrong.
Cool you have some experience. I was wondering could you run 3, 5 minute qualifiers and a 20 or 30 minute main on one charge.?
Soon I'll be joining in on some of the off road gas threads to find out this stuff.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 10:02 PM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central California
Posts: 14
Default

I think it also depends on the quality of the packs. My higher quality ($$$)packs stay pretty balanced while the lower cost packs need some time on the balancer.
cartwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 12:27 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UN4RACING View Post
Cool you have some experience. I was wondering could you run 3, 5 minute qualifiers and a 20 or 30 minute main on one charge.?
Soon I'll be joining in on some of the off road gas threads to find out this stuff.
Actually I have a steep learning curve. Just started 1/8th scale last winter. To answer your question, yes. But the runtime will depend on the mAh of the battery. I put a 2000mah in my truggy assuming the steering servo would draw more power turning bigger tires. My buggy has a 1500mah. I have been getting run times of 1.5 hours. We are having a "Buggy 150" race in a few months. It's looking like close to 1.5 hours long. EEEK! If we are club racing we only have 10 min. mains with three 7 min. qualifiers. I usually recharge after the third weekend. But the batts. are pretty low after that. I'm going to start charging every week and wondering if balancing is necessary or not.
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 12:31 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Anyone tried that Astro Blinky balancer? Is it any good at balancing the cells? Seems odd to me after seeing some balancers that only balance cells and cost a hundey. I like testing stuff, but I don't have the "SAFE" lipo boxes that contain possible disasters so I'm a little reluctant with this. Just wondering if anyone has seen the Astro in use? Thanx
air8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007, 11:21 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
wd40prerunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las vegas
Posts: 455
Trader Rating: 8 (79%+)
Default

how do you balance orion lipos if that dont have the taps?
wd40prerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007, 10:12 PM   #14
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wd40prerunner View Post
how do you balance orion lipos if that dont have the taps?
Does it have a 2mm tap on the bottom.?
If not that must be the first one ever made.?
4800 or 3200.?
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007, 10:37 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: erie,pa.
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to trashedmaxx
Default

What balancer would work for the orion 4800's and a maxamps 4s pack?
trashedmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
balance charging aspris Radio and Electronics 1 09-09-2008 05:51 PM
lipo balance rjs_13203 Electric Off-Road 6 06-11-2008 10:10 AM
To Balance or Not to Balance Lipo Packs while charging RED-LINE M03 Electric On-Road 14 10-24-2007 05:00 PM
LiPo Charge Balance / Non-balance bugnet Electric On-Road 2 09-12-2007 07:39 AM
2-4s Lipo balance charger on the cheap! charges Two 2s packs at once! GigaahX R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-26-2007 04:02 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net