R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2007, 02:47 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default Stampede Help!!!!!!

i have a old stampede that i have revamped with the novak 4.5r and gtb brushless combo and im having extreme glitching issues any one else expereince these problems as well ive tried everything switching radios moving all my wires away from antenna useing side by side pack stick pack i even hooked up a capacitor to the receiver and still extreme glitching please someone help i would hate to think i spent all this money on a brushless setup for no reason
violentz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 02:51 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default

i also have been talking with charlie at team novak and he originally told me it was a low voltage problem and if i switched to a side by side pack it would be resolved and it wasnt im useing a 7.2v 3300nimh side by side pack
violentz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 02:52 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
citizendick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apopka, Fl
Posts: 1,035
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

i tried the capicator and everything myself........the only thing that stopped it was switching to an fm radio...other than that try a reciever pack..that might help. make sure the antenea doesnt have any cuts and is not touching anything...good luck...
citizendick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 02:56 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default

i did ask charlie about switching radios and he told me it wasnt nessicary plus after just buying the motor im a little short on cash to buy another 300$ radio system imm hoping someone else will have some kind of answers
violentz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 03:02 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default

does anyone here have the exact same setup as me??
violentz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 03:34 PM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default

so im the only person with a 4.5r in a stampede im assuming
violentz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 04:30 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,322
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I had the same problem when I bought my first brushless system. I was ready to quit and sell everything! It was just my battery was crap, I bought a used ib 3800 from the fast guy at the track and my car ran great. Ask to try an ib 3800 or 4200 from some body that races or buy a new one.
__________________
Doug Lightcap

ARCS Hobbies / Paint Monster Airbrushing / BFast / Tonys Screws
badassrevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 04:42 PM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default

thats what ive heard but my problem is i already bought another new battery on charlies recomendation and im afraid to buy another and have it happen again
violentz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 05:14 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How would larger capacity packs make a difference to a glitching problem unless you have the glitching problem under load only?

If it's only happening while under load then there is some thing else you could try, like gearing down. I had big problem with my Stampede with a Mamba Max 7700 (with 4200 matched packs) and the stock gearing (18/84). I'm now running 15/87 and no more problems.

You could also try running a brushed motor instead of the 4.5 and see if that elimnates the problem.
Super_Roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 05:44 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,813
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Lightbulb stampede

best option would be to switch to a spectrum radio or similar as well.

did you upgrade the diffs to all metal gears?i have heard that can cause problems with glitching if its not greased but i personally havnt had issues from the all metal diffs.

i dont have a brushless in mine but i do run a Tekin G11 Pro,Checkpoint 9x1 with 91/14 gearing and my radio is a nomadio sensor and i have never had glitching issues.
__________________
RC10B4
FT RC10T4
Proline Pro 2 SCT
Piss on holden
dallasv8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 06:48 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,322
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

A spektrum will just add to the problem it requires more voltage to opperate than a standard radio. You will need a glitch buster cap with the spektrum.
__________________
Doug Lightcap

ARCS Hobbies / Paint Monster Airbrushing / BFast / Tonys Screws
badassrevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 08:35 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
happywing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 997
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

I had all kinds of trouble with my brushless Pede and glitching. Spektrum cured it.
happywing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 10:18 PM   #13
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default

well my problem is i really only have onne hobby shop near me and they dont know anything they specialize in trains i am going to see if he will hook a fm radio system up and if that cures it im buying one and if not im selling my brushless system and switching to a better brushed motor then what i had a 19 turn speedgem modified
violentz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 10:18 PM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Default

thanks for all the help
violentz313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 05:00 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
happywing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 997
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badassrevo View Post
A spektrum will just add to the problem it requires more voltage to opperate than a standard radio. You will need a glitch buster cap with the spektrum.
I think you might be confusing cogging with glitching. The extra draw would increase cogging, but that's not his problem. The problem is interference.

violentz313 - Don't give up on brushless. The price you pay for a Spektrum system (about $150) is worth all the trouble you'll save.
happywing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB!!!!!!!! 12 T esc for my stampede!!!! LOWGEARED R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 03-24-2008 10:31 AM
Stampede XL5 RTR ca-tn R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 09-10-2007 08:20 PM
WTB Stampede andrewtexas123 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 08-02-2006 07:46 AM
looking for a stampede mj R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 08-10-2005 09:51 PM
Anyone else got a stampede traxxasmn Electric Off-Road 11 01-05-2004 01:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:06 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net