R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2007, 07:05 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Mark T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 167
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mark T Send a message via MSN to Mark T
Default 1/10th Off-Road Set-up Station

Does anybody make a set-up station for 1/10th off-road trucks and buggies?
__________________
Team Losi
Airtronics
Novak
Mark T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 07:05 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Mark T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 167
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mark T Send a message via MSN to Mark T
Default

TTT
__________________
Team Losi
Airtronics
Novak
Mark T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 10:03 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Not sure, but it would be a waste of money IMO. All you really need is a digital guage to make sure turnbuckles and shock shafts are symmetrical. Tweaking on an off-road car is much less noticeable than on-road because of the dynamic nature of the surface. There are times where your car may act goofy, but that is usually due to a cracked/broken part and not a few MM tweak on an arm.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 10:10 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default Ebay

DO a search on ebay for 1:10 Setup buggy
dynamic_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 10:46 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
*Chrominator*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Living in a Van down by the river.
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
Not sure, but it would be a waste of money IMO. All you really need is a digital guage to make sure turnbuckles and shock shafts are symmetrical. Tweaking on an off-road car is much less noticeable than on-road because of the dynamic nature of the surface. There are times where your car may act goofy, but that is usually due to a cracked/broken part and not a few MM tweak on an arm.
I have a digital gauge, and have tried to do what you say, but there is so much slop in every thing, especially the wheels, that it is hard to tell if it is right or not .

What I did is bought a extra Integy TC setup station , and drilled the holes out to fit the 1/10 off road axles . I then just use it on my TC set up board .

At least that way you are eliminating the wheel slop issue, and you can see that every thing looks the same on each side .

RC stuff for sale . http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=166731
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi my name is Mike, and I'm a Chromeholic, my wheels have been chrome free for over a year, thanks to everyone who made fun of them.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*Chrominator* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 11:02 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by *Chrominator* View Post
I have a digital gauge, and have tried to do what you say, but there is so much slop in every thing, especially the wheels, that it is hard to tell if it is right or not .

What I did is bought a extra Integy TC setup station , and drilled the holes out to fit the 1/10 off road axles . I then just use it on my TC set up board .

At least that way you are eliminating the wheel slop issue, and you can see that every thing looks the same on each side .
If you have that much slop theres a problem. There would have to be a great deal in order for it to make a differece and, if youre running 8th scale as your avatar suggests, I would think that it would be less of a concern then. Sounds like you just needed to shim, or make sure it was together correctly. The only slop I seem to get in my CR is the rack screws will come out a bit sometimes and give me a lot of slop. That or the hingepin holes get a bit bigger after use and get some side to side. Other than that nothing major that would make me want to use a setup station such as on-road.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 12:39 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Bdegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 77
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

set up stations work in offroad.
Most don't feel the need. But some do.

Look at it this way....
Offroad buggy wheels can out more than 2 degrees when they are new out of the package. So how can you acurately set -2 degrees camber if the wheels arenot perfectly true??
Bdegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 12:45 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bdegan View Post
set up stations work in offroad.
Most don't feel the need. But some do.

Look at it this way....
Offroad buggy wheels can out more than 2 degrees when they are new out of the package. So how can you acurately set -2 degrees camber if the wheels arenot perfectly true??
Use a camber gauge? I dont see how that has anything to do with a tweak station. If the wheel is out 2 degrees, send it in for a new one, the only thing you can do to fix it is shorten or lengthen the links. Nothing a station does over a simple gauge.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 01:43 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
*Chrominator*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Living in a Van down by the river.
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bdegan View Post
set up stations work in offroad.
Most don't feel the need. But some do.

Look at it this way....
Offroad buggy wheels can out more than 2 degrees when they are new out of the package. So how can you accurately set -2 degrees camber if the wheels aren't perfectly true??
Thats what I'm saying , it just take the wheel slop out of the equation .

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
Use a camber gauge? I don't see how that has anything to do with a tweak station. If the wheel is out 2 degrees, send it in for a new one, the only thing you can do to fix it is shorten or lengthen the links. Nothing a station does over a simple gauge.
It's the bearings and the wheels, even when there brand new, theres a ton of slop in them.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi my name is Mike, and I'm a Chromeholic, my wheels have been chrome free for over a year, thanks to everyone who made fun of them.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*Chrominator* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 01:56 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Tons? That sounds like a problem. I mean slop will be normal for any off-road car, thats just the way it is. I guess I dont see where a setup station will help fix slop, especially if its easily viewable.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 03:01 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
*Chrominator*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Living in a Van down by the river.
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
Tons? That sounds like a problem. I mean slop will be normal for any off-road car, thats just the way it is. I guess I don't see where a setup station will help fix slop, especially if its easily viewable.
All I can say is, I have found it hard to set the camber with a gauge, when one minute the wheels are leaning one way and the next time there leaning the other way . I've adjusted it and then run a couple of laps with out hitting anything or crashing , come back and checked it and it would look like it is leaning the other way.

And then all you have to do Is grab the wheel and tire, and rock it back and forth, and you can see that it is going from a couple of degrees positive to negative.

With the set up station you can see that the gauge and the axle are leaning the same direction.

All I'm saying is , it's a little more accurate with the wheels off than on , and that can't hurt or be bad.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi my name is Mike, and I'm a Chromeholic, my wheels have been chrome free for over a year, thanks to everyone who made fun of them.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*Chrominator* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 03:14 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

The axle doesnt matter though. It all depends on what is touching the ground, and thats the tire. Like you said, if you set your axle to be -2, and your tire is off another 1 deg, then it doesnt matter what you set your axle to at that point because you will still have to adjust it one way or another to get the proper camber.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 03:38 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
*Chrominator*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Living in a Van down by the river.
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K_King View Post
The axle doesn't matter though. It all depends on what is touching the ground, and thats the tire. Like you said, if you set your axle to be -2, and your tire is off another 1 deg, then it doesn't matter what you set your axle to at that point because you will still have to adjust it one way or another to get the proper camber.
I don't know how else to explain it , I give up your right , don't use one .
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi my name is Mike, and I'm a Chromeholic, my wheels have been chrome free for over a year, thanks to everyone who made fun of them.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*Chrominator* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 05:11 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,319
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I've found anything more than a pop can on the table is overkill.


Run the right tires for the track, give the camber a good eyeball and it's time to go have fun.

That said I do like the rpm camber and toe gauge. And sometimes I still
anal-ize my shocks with calipers. But wheel time will do more for your driving than any setup station ever will for the dirt cars.
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2007, 08:40 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
jobo_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Banos, Laguna, PH
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jobo_ph Send a message via Skype™ to jobo_ph
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by *Chrominator* View Post
All I can say is, I have found it hard to set the camber with a gauge, when one minute the wheels are leaning one way and the next time there leaning the other way . I've adjusted it and then run a couple of laps with out hitting anything or crashing , come back and checked it and it would look like it is leaning the other way.

And then all you have to do Is grab the wheel and tire, and rock it back and forth, and you can see that it is going from a couple of degrees positive to negative.

With the set up station you can see that the gauge and the axle are leaning the same direction.

All I'm saying is , it's a little more accurate with the wheels off than on , and that can't hurt or be bad.

I know exactly what you mean.
I set my camber with a camber gauge (eyeing the c-hubs) with the wheels off, too. Then use a vernier caliper to double check the camber link's length. I find it is more accurate this way than using a camber gauge on the wheels.

I had been thinking about finding a 1/10th off-road set-up station, too.
__________________
Hibernating...
Team Associated B4 * T4 * B44
Novak BL * Futaba TX/RX/Servos * Hyperion/Megapower Chargers
Orion/Yuntong/Maxamps Lipo * AMB #6655738
jobo_ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HUDY Set up Station 1/10th On Road rccars4scott R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 11-05-2007 04:25 AM
1/10th TC Set Up Station JeffEmbracedDC R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 7 06-24-2007 04:27 PM
1/10th Set up station heavy Australia For Sale/Trade 3 11-13-2006 12:18 AM
wtb set up station for 10th and 8th scale papadocks R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 05-18-2006 12:25 AM
WTB MIP Tweak Station and 1/10th TC Setup Station Charles Leto R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 03-23-2006 12:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net