R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2007, 06:57 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Turbocharged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Default Dual motor brushless ESC

I know it sound wierd, but think about it...Sick, right? does anyone make these? i think it would be a good idea. people were saying that they wanna see a brushless e-maxx like the rustler/stempede/bandit. but this is imposible without two brushless motors, (or one HUGE motor that cost more than the truck). what do people think? i like it
Turbocharged
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, call it version Beta.1
Rammstein ist nicht deutsch.....
Off-Road Electic Is What The Men Race
http://www.freewebs.com/computerbuild/
R/C Excitement, Fitchberg MA
Turbocharged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 07:01 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

Already done: http://www.teamnovak.com/products/br...tem/index.html

single motor conversion.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 07:54 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Turbocharged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Default

not exactly. i'm talking about an ESC that can actualy drice two brushless motors, not just one realy powerful one
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, call it version Beta.1
Rammstein ist nicht deutsch.....
Off-Road Electic Is What The Men Race
http://www.freewebs.com/computerbuild/
R/C Excitement, Fitchberg MA
Turbocharged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 08:07 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Linkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Linkster Send a message via Yahoo to Linkster
Default

I cant find the link right now but... It has been discussed before.
You just cant run 2 Brushless Motors on 1 ESC
Linkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 09:21 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Turbocharged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linkster View Post
You just cant run 2 Brushless Motors on 1 ESC
I know that, but is there one that can, and if not, do people think it is a good idea? i know manufacturers watch this forum for ideas, so let's throw it out there.
Turbocharged
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, call it version Beta.1
Rammstein ist nicht deutsch.....
Off-Road Electic Is What The Men Race
http://www.freewebs.com/computerbuild/
R/C Excitement, Fitchberg MA
Turbocharged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 10:04 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
utahrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 235
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

wow I think that would be really cool, hopefully someone works on that.
__________________
brushless MLST
utahrcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 10:47 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Good idea but can you imagine the size of the esc that will be running two motors? It'll be huge. And then consider the price of this esc and 2x motors as it would only really be useful in 1 or 2 (maybe 3) brands of trucks.

We already have several bl esc manufacturers that are compatible with several other brands of motors that are suitable and very reliably being used in single motor applications in many 1/8 scale buggy's and truggy's. Also take into consideration that the guys who are running single motor configurations are running anything up to 4s and beyond with LiPo's or 10, 12 and 14 cells with sub-c's, so with a twin motor configuration you would probably want to be running 8s or more.

Sorry, I'm not knocking your idea. Just being realistic and since the manufacturer is realistically going to be selling you 2 esc's in one unit they are not going to charge the price of one esc.
Super_Roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 11:33 AM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Turbocharged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Default

I realize it is ineficiant, and i kind of figured that would be the overall agreament, i just wanted to know what people thought. Now another question: is it posible to run two ESC off one reciver? i just want to know for a crazy idea i have.
Turbocharged
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, call it version Beta.1
Rammstein ist nicht deutsch.....
Off-Road Electic Is What The Men Race
http://www.freewebs.com/computerbuild/
R/C Excitement, Fitchberg MA
Turbocharged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 05:25 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
cfwdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 288
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

There are a few guy flying planes with two motors running off single ESC's.

http://www.m-a-e.com/Sub_Pages/Produ...ducts_Mots.htm

here's a link to one place that sells a motor setup.

the same principles apply on larger setups.
cfwdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 05:47 PM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Turbocharged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Default

If you can do that with planes, why not with cars? the principles of brushless motors are the same.
Turbocharged
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, call it version Beta.1
Rammstein ist nicht deutsch.....
Off-Road Electic Is What The Men Race
http://www.freewebs.com/computerbuild/
R/C Excitement, Fitchberg MA
Turbocharged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 05:50 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
cfwdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 288
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

that was my point.

this setup on the link i posted recommends the cheaper Castle thunderbird ESC, too. Nothing special there, it's not even the nicer Pheonix line of ESC's which have more programming options.

It can work.
cfwdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 05:56 PM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Turbocharged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Default

I think for a car you would want a REALLY high power ESC, maybe a Mamba Max, or whatever kind of ESC they use for the 1/8 scale conversions; and maybe a 5 or 6s lipo. input? ideas?
Turbocharged
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, call it version Beta.1
Rammstein ist nicht deutsch.....
Off-Road Electic Is What The Men Race
http://www.freewebs.com/computerbuild/
R/C Excitement, Fitchberg MA
Turbocharged is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Do I Set up Dual Brushless motor on Emaxx??? MoFO Monster Trucks 8 09-20-2010 06:49 AM
g-made crawler dual novak brushless,645's.dx 3.0 dethklok151 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-29-2008 03:40 PM
Dual Motor Dual Battery Ofna Roto Start & TRX 2.5 | 3.3 Backplate mosher111 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-03-2008 10:51 AM
Dual motor starter box rushdude R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-24-2007 02:42 PM
Wanted: Dual Motor Esc superpede111 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-15-2004 09:24 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net