Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Trying to pick the right GTB system, need help >

Trying to pick the right GTB system, need help

Trying to pick the right GTB system, need help

Reply

Old 07-15-2007, 02:18 PM
  #1  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,751
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default Trying to pick the right GTB system, need help

I am looking to pick up a Novak GTB brushless system, but I want to know which of the ones you can find up on tower (motor and esc combo) that will do the following:

1. have lipo cut off built in
2. Come with a sintered rotor
3. come with a ribbed can

Any advice you can give you would be great. Thanks!
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 02:27 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
foolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 732
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
I am looking to pick up a Novak GTB brushless system, but I want to know which of the ones you can find up on tower (motor and esc combo) that will do the following:

1. have lipo cut off built in
2. Come with a sintered rotor
3. come with a ribbed can

Any advice you can give you would be great. Thanks!
I believe all the Novak GTB/Velociti motor systems meet your requirements.
foolio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 04:27 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,330
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

All the novak motors should be coming with sintered rotors now, and have the ribbed can.

To get the lipo cutoff though I think you have to get the spread spectrum gtb. Can't use that one with regular fm or am radios though.
jbrow1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 04:32 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

the regular GTB has lipo cutoff too.
badassrevo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 06:01 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (22)
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

cain, the velocity 5.5 would work good for what you are planning on using it for, thats what im planning on running on 2wd buggy and the 4.5 maybe the 3.5 for 4wd buggy...
Jason Halvorson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 08:02 PM
  #6  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,751
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default

I am leaning toward the 6.5 right now. Looking at this in particular:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXKSW1&P=ML

I figure with the $30 off coupon, comes in at a good price.

How does the speed of the 6.5 unit compare to the 5700 mamba max motor?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 08:05 PM
  #7  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,751
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default

This will be going into an RC10B4 buggy.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 08:07 PM
  #8  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,751
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default

Found this thread here about how much motor you can use in the B4:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...hlight=max+gtb
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 09:02 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,330
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

A 6.5 in a B4 is gonna be real HAIRY!! I had a 6.5 in my T4 and it was fun. But my laptimes are better with the 7.5
I now have the 6.5 in my xx4 and that thing is a bullet even with it's 3 belt drivetrain. Couldn't imagine it in a B4.....
Maybe if you're on a super high traction track or something.
jbrow1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 03:22 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 403
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Just my opinion.......

I have a 7.5 in a T4, and a 6.5 in a XXX4. Both are new with sintered rotors. I would not even consider going with a faster motor in either.

I definitely agree that a 6.5 in a B4 would be hairy after running my stuff for a while.

At some point I might get a 8.5 for my B4, but nobody runs them around here, so it might be a while...
Manning is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 06:25 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Novak Velociti 6.5 or 7.5 brushless setup will work fine for you.
BuggyKing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:18 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
chris c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So Cal Westminster
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

I just picked up a 7.5 and a gtb today.
It came with lipo cut off, sintered rotor and a ribbed for her pleasure can





Going from a GTX and checkpoint 12 to the gtb.

now i need to sell them
chris c is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 10:06 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chris c View Post
I just picked up a 7.5 and a gtb today.
It came with lipo cut off, sintered rotor and a ribbed for her pleasure can





Going from a GTX and checkpoint 12 to the gtb.

now i need to sell them
"ribbed for her pleasure" Good one..LOL...you must have seen some of the same vending machines I have.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 05:39 AM
  #14  
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (251)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,751
Trader Rating: 251 (100%+)
Default

do you guys feel that the novak at around $220 new is worth the extra $50 if I can get a new MM for $170?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 06:34 AM
  #15  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
do you guys feel that the novak at around $220 new is worth the extra $50 if I can get a new MM for $170?
I feel its a steel.
You get what you pay for.
Why the Mamba at 170, find some thing cheaper. Or can you find some thing cheaper.?
UN4RACING is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service