Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Speed control bumps? >

Speed control bumps?

Speed control bumps?

Old 07-03-2007, 04:37 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
tenpins77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in a house
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Cool Speed control bumps?

hey,

I recently bought a novak gt7 off a friend of mine to use in my buggy. Hit the track today, and about 6 min into my run hit a double the wrong way, and flipped my buggy upside down. Okay, not the end of the world. So anyway, i flip the buggy over, and go to hit the gas and the car doesnt move? Hum this is random? Servo works fine, car just wont go foward? Decide to check the battery, no issues there. change batterys, same no foward deal? Talk to guy at lhs, and he says gearing is prob off. So i hit the track again, with the new gearing, and still the same deal. so i change my 13x2 and go to a 19 money motor. Get the car wired up problem fixed. Okay just figured it was a motor issue. Charge up a pack hit the track and have issues on that same double, which leads the car to flipping over again. what do u know, same issue no foward. I am direct soldering every thing, so theres not connectors that could be loose. all my packs are fine, running spektrum Dx2 system !

My guess, is that the esc is taking a crap? Whats your opinon?
tenpins77 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 04:54 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Mark T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 167
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Your brushes are probably just hanging up from the shock of casing a jump. Just pull the brush wire back a little bit and let it go so it snaps back in.
Mark T is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 10:19 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
tenpins77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in a house
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default really

thats interesting, i thought checkpoint motors brushes were held down to the com by the springs? is this common?
tenpins77 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 10:30 PM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Your brush sounds hanged up. Also make sure you didn't bend the hood on the endbell.
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 03:54 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Super_Roo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 143
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Is the GT7 or motor hot when this happens?

If all of the above check out ok then it could be a dry solder joint. So it might be worth checking or resolder the motor wires on the GT7 and at the motor.
Super_Roo is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:06 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
tenpins77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in a house
Posts: 692
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

hey, i saw that the brushes werent catching the armature, got a scredriver and just pushed the brush back in, motor works? any way to fix this permantly
tenpins77 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:12 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tenpins77 View Post
hey, i saw that the brushes werent catching the armature, got a scredriver and just pushed the brush back in, motor works? any way to fix this permantly
Get rid of the brushes?
Turbo Joe is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:14 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

NICE
badassrevo is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:41 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
sport10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 1,013
Default

Take the motor apart and clean it with motor spray. Also, heavier springs will help too.
sport10 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:54 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ma
Posts: 62
Default

I have found the with those brush type motors you can get dirt and junk inside the brush holder area. With the round brushes when I go to rebuild a motor before I replace the brushes I will put the brush wire inside a small dremel unit and run it at the lowest setting. This way I use the old brushes to clean out any junk in the holder area.
Basher is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 06:15 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by badassrevo View Post
NICE
Thank you...thank you...I'll be here all week.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Old 07-05-2007, 12:33 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
JamesnMeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Easy there smokey It could just as well be a missed phase wire causing all the problems.

Originally Posted by Turbo Joe View Post
Thank you...thank you...I'll be here all week.
JamesnMeyer is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.