R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2007, 11:23 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 61
Default Is my Power Supply Big Enough?

I'm running the Integy 10 amp power supply, and the new checkpoint charger (pretty much the same as the ICE.)

I've gone the Lipo direction, charging Orion 3200's at 3.2 amps.

From what I'm told, your power supply should be = or > the total number of amps you're charging at.

So my question, will my 10 amp power supply be able to handle 2 checkpoint chargers both charging at 3.2 amps each?
Eggman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 11:38 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Yes. As long as you don't go over 10 amps. I would play it safe and to keep it from getting hot, I would not go over the 6.4 that you are talking. You'll be fine.
The owners manual says 15 amps to cover from surging and stuff. Trying to keep a more consistent voltage to the charger.
UN4RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:47 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I charge with two ICE chargers at 4.8 with my N-Power (10A)...done it for a couple years now, never once had a problem.

Chargers for LiPo aren't as sensitive as NiMh chargers. They're not looking for small voltage fluctuations.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 11:25 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,141
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

You should be fine with 120 watt ps.

A 2s battery is 25 watts each so you won't even be using half the power with 2 chargers.
gulio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 01:22 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
RC Corral's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Waukesha, Wisconsin
Posts: 777
Default

I also run a 10 amp N power by novak and run an Ice at 4.0 amps and an intellipeak digital at 4.0 amps (or so) and have had no trouble.
If you overtax the power supply, your charger will notify you of the lack if suffient input power. ( if its like the Ice, that is)
RC Corral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 05:37 AM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 10:53 PM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 05:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net