R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-15-2007, 07:49 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 426
Default Spektrum Problems

Has any one else had problems with the throttle/brake servos burning out with an sr3000 receiver on a DX2.0 transmitter? I'm having a heck of a time with it. Have killed at least half a dozen servos. I can still use them on a stock Hitec receiver but once I plug them back into the spektrum reciever they die again. Any suggestions?
stiffler297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 07:54 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If this is in a Losi 8ight, you need to read through the 8ight thread to stop killing servos. It's not difficult, you just need to take a few steps to ensure proper functioning of your radio system.
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 08:01 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 426
Default

Actually it's on an XTM XT2 buggy. But the same issues.
stiffler297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 08:12 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 426
Default

I've looked through most of them and can't find anything. Can you send me a link to the forum you're talking about?
stiffler297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 08:34 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 426
Default

is there anyone around the Pomona Ca area that may be able to help out?
stiffler297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 08:48 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
FrankBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bundaberg Qld Australia
Posts: 450
Default

Do you have your end points set correctly?
FrankBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 09:21 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler297
is there anyone around the Pomona Ca area that may be able to help out?
I can help you out with it...just PM me, I'm not too far from you.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 08:01 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 426
Default

Yep! Endpoints set correctly. After the first servo went, I put another one on and even had the LHS check it out to make sure. After about 3/4 of a tank. Gone!
stiffler297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 09:10 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Let us know what you find out. We've been trying to solve the problem as if it's entirely the 8ight's design and/or the person building/operating it was at fault, but this could be a Spektrum thing, or most likely, a combo of the two...keep us posted.
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 09:38 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
racer34v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,736
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to racer34v
Default

what servo?
racer34v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 12:28 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 426
Default

I've blown a cheapy HS311, than the Z270 and 590. Several traxxas 2018's. I use the cheap ones because I don't want to spend the money on a good servo and blow it out. I'm going to try a HS322 with the karbonite gears and see if that helps any.
stiffler297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 01:05 PM   #12
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 367
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Nay0k
Default

by the sound of it it'd probably be cheaper for you to buy one good servo instead of 5+ cheapie servos...I doubt a better servo would strip a gear that's not available at your LHS or whatever...
Nay0k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 02:33 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Are you stripping them out, or are they just quitting on you? Get one of the dead ones and tell us if the gears are stripped, or if it's still smooth and just not working. All the throttle servos I killed appear undamaged, they just don't work.
R40Victim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 05:27 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 426
Default

The gears are fine. I had the 590 on the throttle since the 270 went out and that went out. So I checked it out on my stock Hitec receiver and it works flawlessly. I will say that the traxxas ones don't last long. I have stripped out 2 of those plus I've pulled one apart. The fortunate thing is these were all spares that were in my tool box from all the other traxxas cars I have so they didn't cost me anything. The 270 and 590 I know aren't the best but they should stand up better than the traxxas ones.
stiffler297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 11:48 PM   #15
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central California
Posts: 14
Default

To me it sounds like a there is a problem in the Spektrum receiver. Especially if they still work with another receiver. Maybe it is some kind of bad connection at the plug in.
cartwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Spektrum Dorigecko Australian Racing 5 08-04-2008 03:59 AM
Problems with Spektrum DX3 Dorigecko Radio and Electronics 0 08-03-2008 08:33 AM
Spektrum DX2.0 problems itspat Radio and Electronics 0 12-14-2007 06:00 PM
spektrum Rx problems? aussies1129 Nitro Off-Road 4 08-18-2007 03:18 AM
Spektrum problems, Please help! madlosi79 Nitro On-Road 24 07-14-2007 11:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net