R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 04-17-2007, 12:08 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default kyosho ZX5 chassis broken at front battery post

I drove my new kyosho zx5 for one battery pack and the chassis chunked off at the front battery post. Is this common?

I drove very easy and the track is very soft. I am a decent driver. I go to the track 1-2 times a week for the past 4 years. I am usually in the b main if I race.

One guy at the track drove one pack and his broke too. The other guy drove 3 laps and his front shock tower broke.

I am very disappointed at this car. I have several kyosho gas 1/8 buggies and they are great but this ZX5 is not good. Maybe Kyosho should stick w/ gas buggies and get out of electric offroad.
Old 04-17-2007, 12:40 AM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)

Knock on wood, my car has been great. I think I broke one front shock tower the whole time I owned it.

I love this car.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=184104

WWW.BUSTOUTBMX.COM
TheTurtleMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2007, 12:58 AM   #3
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

go on the kyosho thread. there is a post on this "problem"

they upgraded the chassis. you prob got the old chassis. the new chassis got a "+" shaped mould on the battery post.

i did break my old style chassis. my fault. bad crash. but i fixed it easy. just glue it back on and run a 3mm washer under the chassis and a button head screw.

i ran like this for over 10 races meets now and its all good.

i also got a new chassis now, but have never used it because the fix i did is holding up well.

zx-5 is very strong car. as strong as anything out there, and much better than losi, with a few hopups like aluminium tower holder and front lower alum brace.