BK1

Reply

Old 04-12-2007, 04:17 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Exclamation BK1

Ok so i have a Rustler with a mamba 5700kv and took it to the indoor track. there were buggies and i just couldn't make the jumps like they did, so now i want a buggy! I found a nice deal on a BK1, but i hear that its hard to find parts for them? is this true?
Rustler_5700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 04:48 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
xxx-ntad2 racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

you can pick up a bk2 pretty cheap now a days too. i don't think it's hard to find parts...it is an older car tho...
xxx-ntad2 racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 05:20 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: here
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rustler_5700
Ok so i have a Rustler with a mamba 5700kv and took it to the indoor track. there were buggies and i just couldn't make the jumps like they did, so now i want a buggy! I found a nice deal on a BK1, but i hear that its hard to find parts for them? is this true?
the bk1 is similar to the xxx-cr so you can use the same parts as the new car.
jelly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 06:56 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
AzBobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 312
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the BK2 and the cr parts will work on the bk1.
AzBobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 08:07 PM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

so the arms and everything is the same on htm? if so what is the difference?
the one im looking at is entirely graphite
Rustler_5700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 08:13 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
D Hunt 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Durand, IL / Platteville, WI
Posts: 2,225
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

If you get a BK1 when you break front arms put the CR hubs and arms on and I would suggest the rear hubs and arms from the CR so you get the more hub options. Also the CR steering rack.
D Hunt 3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 08:22 PM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

so how much am i looking at for what you said, in terms of cost?
Rustler_5700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 08:22 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Parts are not hard to find for the BK1. They are very to the CR buggy.
BuggyKing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 08:24 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

Originally Posted by XXXCRRacer
Parts are not hard to find for the BK1. They are very to the CR buggy.
very to??
Rustler_5700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 08:38 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

Originally Posted by Rustler_5700
so how much am i looking at for what you said, in terms of cost?
.
Rustler_5700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 09:01 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

here's what you can add to your BK1 to bring it to CR specs:

XXXCR FRONT SHOCK TOWER - LOSA1104
FRONT ARM, VLA, EA3: XXXCR - LOSA1112
XXXCR STEERING BELLCRANKS, RACK - LOSA1621
REAR SHOCK TOWER,EA3: XXXCR - LOSA2100
REAR HUBS, VLA: XXXCR - LOSA2129
REAR SUSPENSION ARMS, VLA,EA3:XXXCR - LOSA2132

Those are the main components. I would also consider swapping out the graphite chassis and front/rear suspension mounts with EA3 ones as well.
RCGaryK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 09:19 PM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

is EA3 lighter?
Rustler_5700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 06:47 AM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

Originally Posted by Rustler_5700
is EA3 lighter?
,
Rustler_5700 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 09:32 AM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

I run my BK1 alot and have no problem with getting parts.I have been using the EA3 front arms (seem to be cheeper than the graphite) with the VLA's front and rear.

I like my "old" buggy.
Jammin"145 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2007, 10:04 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (40)
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,202
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rustler_5700
is EA3 lighter?
Maybe a little, but its also more brittle than the EA3. If you are going to swap out everything for EA3, just buy a new kit. Honestly the BK1 will be fine. It sounds as though you are new so all of the extra setup adjustments wont do you any good right now. You could always add them later as you get more experience.
K_King is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service