Wiki Posts
Search

Buggy Questions / Recomendations

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2007, 12:41 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Default Buggy Questions / Recomendations

OK so I'm new to RC, and I'm hooked. I have and an rc18t and an associated MGT, and I love em. I'm looking to get into a buggy or two with my son for the summer. I think I can hold out until the new AE 1/8th buggy comes out in May, but my son cant.

So i'm looking at nitro vs electric. My son saw and fell in love with the ofna Ultra MBX Comp 1/8 RTR Buggy. Now as a dad I'm 99 percent positive that he loves the colored wheels, lol. I dont mind letting him get what he wants, but I want to make sure its at least a descent buggy for him to learn on, and wont fall apart in a month.

I'm also looking to figure out what the best 1/10th electric buggy to get. Like I said I'm partial to AE so the RC10B4 Race Spec RTR Buggy is looking apealing to me. Is there anything else out there I should evaluate that is around the same price range and is nice and durable?

Thanks for your advise and recomendations.
Old 03-27-2007, 04:10 AM
Tech Regular

Old 03-27-2007, 04:59 AM
Tech Adept

Well i'm partial to the nitro's. Electrics to me just lack the realism that hearing the engine screaming down the track give you.

The MBX is a great choice for a beginner buggy, PBS style suspension thats nearly as bulletproof as you can get, but keep in mind that the design is probably at least 5 years old. The MBX is based on Ofna's Ultra series buggy (Ultra GT, MBX, LX, LX Comp, and so on). If your planning on bashing and maybe doing a little learning at the track, the MBX is a great choice as a 1st buggy.

If you want to get a little more into racing at all, the Ofna Hyper 7 TQ RTR would be a great more modern selection and it would still have a very good price (about $299 retail).
Old 03-27-2007, 05:21 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)