R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2007, 10:47 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: cali
Posts: 12
Default personal transponder problems

I have an AMB personal transponder that isnt checking in at the track. the light comes on and its plugged in the aux of my spectum reciever in the right direction. it only has a couple of seasons of racing on it. has any one heard of these going bad?
isaacsk8sfino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 10:57 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
mfishel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: the racing capital of the world
Posts: 551
Default

Hard for one of these to go bad, but possible. Probably it's a voltage problem. Spektrum offers a 'Spektrum Voltage Protector' part #SPM1600 that should cure the problem. Additionally it could be the actual loop in the track. There is a small diode in the wire, and they eventually go bad. When this happens reception will become inconsistent, and for some reason it seems to 'pick on' certain cars over others. Now your track manager is going to be p****d at me because anybody that has a problem will blame his equipment. So check everything out. Placement can be crucial in your vehicle.
mfishel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 11:34 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: erie,pa.
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to trashedmaxx
Default

I had a problem similar to this with my PT about a year ago. I use the same transponder I all my cars using velcro. The light would light up but would miss a lap here and there. I found the plug was slowly starting to wear out. Put a new plug on, all was fixed. So as a test try moving the PT around and see if the led stays light.
trashedmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 01:30 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: cali
Posts: 12
Default

thank you for your help!
isaacsk8sfino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 01:56 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Fabulous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WI.
Posts: 1,138
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

I had simular problems. Instead of buying a new one I sent the bad to MRT to get it 'cloned'. Now I have three PT with the same number, one for each of my cars. You can order any color you want with any color led light you want and it's 20$ cheaper than AMB.
Fabulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 02:03 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Paradoxmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ft Worth, Tx
Posts: 168
Default

Impacts and vibration of the car/truck as it runs could also be physically damaging the wires going. It may not seem like much, but 1-2mm of movement won't hurt most things, but repeat that constantly over the course of several years and the wires could start to break.
Paradoxmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 02:29 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
Default

there is a UK guy who can fix them and convert it to I-PT.

see, bottom of page

http://www.team-mrt.com/
Andyg01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 09:06 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 246
Default

Also be sure to orient them flat on the chassis or other component. If you lay them on their side you are much more likely to have problems with intermittent loss of laps. The signal from the PT radiates from the top and bottom with much more strength.
mguebert69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 11:44 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
RC Scoring Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elm Grove, WI (Milwaukee area) USA
Posts: 2,010
Default

Quote:
Additionally it could be the actual loop in the track. There is a small diode in the wire, and they eventually go bad. When this happens reception will become inconsistent, and for some reason it seems to 'pick on' certain cars over others.
There is no diode in the loop. Some older loops have a resistor. I have never seen a loop that likes certain cars more than others. If this were true my car would never get scored.

Things to check:
Plug into the Steering servo slot in the receiver and push the car over the loop
Never use the 'BATT' slot, this is for battery IN, not out
Place the transponder flat, not vertical
Don't put the transponder near electronics - like on the servo

Try putting on a new connector
Try somebody elses transponder in your car to see if it is the receiver

Last resort - Send the transponder in and get it fixed!
__________________
RCScoringPro.com

Official software of: ROAR Nationals, IIC, Cactus Classic, Indoor Champs, Reedy Race and Trackside Hobbies in Brookfield, WI!
RC Scoring Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 11:51 AM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 35
Default

some say cars dont count with old transponder on new decoder type ambrc3?

here is the one http://www.rctech.net/forum/showpost...7&postcount=10
__________________
..^....`O~o
sagino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 12:01 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
mfishel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: the racing capital of the world
Posts: 551
Default

Sorry Doug, but I beg to differ. I just had to purchase one from AMB. The mile of yellow cable has a little black box in the center of it. I was informed that they get damaged. If they were BS'n me it was to the tune of about 80 bucks. Also I quit having reception problems after I replaced it.
mfishel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 09:52 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I've replaced old transponder receiver loops at two different tracks with standard RG-59/U Coaxial cable. No diode or resistor, and they both work fine. Interestingly, check out the link below: AMB-it's online shop shows their cable with a 470ohm resistor:

http://www.amb-it.com/shop/amer/cata...0fe420773de30d



Interesting, considering the two installations I helped in, were standard "low-grade" coax, and they both work great!

Mr.Maim
Mr.Maim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 12:22 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 276
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

while on the subject...should the p.t's be installed under light colors on the body or does it make no difference. I assume it is no difference.
Thanks
nitroracer20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 02:33 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Body color makes no difference at all... if the siganl goes through the chassis I think a little paint won't hurt anything.

I assume you have a loop tower over the track?
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 04:14 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
RC Scoring Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elm Grove, WI (Milwaukee area) USA
Posts: 2,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Maim
I've replaced old transponder receiver loops at two different tracks with standard RG-59/U Coaxial cable. No diode or resistor, and they both work fine. Interestingly, check out the link below: AMB-it's online shop shows their cable with a 470ohm resistor:

http://www.amb-it.com/shop/amer/cata...0fe420773de30d



Interesting, considering the two installations I helped in, were standard "low-grade" coax, and they both work great!


Mr.Maim
How about posting the Radio Shack Part #'s required ? I have a zillion people who want to make their own loop.
__________________
RCScoringPro.com

Official software of: ROAR Nationals, IIC, Cactus Classic, Indoor Champs, Reedy Race and Trackside Hobbies in Brookfield, WI!
RC Scoring Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Personal transponder elusiver Australia Wanted to Buy 0 11-14-2006 06:25 PM
AMB personal transponder richclo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 11-10-2006 02:46 AM
Personal Transponder SuperRooster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 11-05-2006 02:22 PM
FS: personal transponder elite R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 11-02-2006 10:32 AM
AMB Personal Transponder prphze R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 11-01-2006 06:00 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:56 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net