Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
personal transponder problems >

personal transponder problems

personal transponder problems

Reply

Old 03-28-2007, 07:22 PM
  #16  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: cali
Posts: 12
Talking

i bought a capacitor from spectrum and plugged it in and i'm off to the races on sat. hope this works. id like to have a trouble free race day.
isaacsk8sfino is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 08:36 PM
  #17  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I'll get back to you tomorrow on that. I did the install (digging, routing, burying) but wasn't the one who bought the cable and stuff. I'll check tomorrow and re-post here...
Mr.Maim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 10:19 PM
  #18  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC Scoring Pro
How about posting the Radio Shack Part #'s required ? I have a zillion people who want to make their own loop.

This works for me.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...tId=2062320&cp

The manual tells you to replace it with a 470 ohm resistor if its bad. It also tells you what the resistance of the coax should be.

I don't think the resistor wears out, more than likely bad/poorly protected connections or lightning strikes are the problem.

$.99 and an extra soda straw from McD's, little silicone and heat shrink, and your all fixed up.
Attached Thumbnails personal transponder problems-resistor.jpg   personal transponder problems-home-made-loop.jpg  

Last edited by Ed Anderson; 04-15-2007 at 07:10 PM.
Ed Anderson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 01:05 PM
  #19  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Mr.Maim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,609
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I stand corrected... The way it is set up at the track where I drive: they run the yellow AMB cable from the transponder receiver box a the loop that is buried which is standard low-grade coax cable that makes a loop and both ends come back together and are attached to a Deans connector. The AMB cable, having had the loop portion worn out years ago, ends past the first (larger) black box. Both smaller "loop wires" are connected to a Deans connector which attaches to the buried coax loop. But there is still no resistor.

I'll have to defer to Ed Anderson's post above for resistor info.

Oh, and I found this earlier today: aftermarket (cheaper) AMB compatible stuff:

http://users.bigpond.net.au/bigfix/t...rs/goodies.htm

Mr.Maim
Mr.Maim is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service