R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 03-23-2007, 04:04 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Nitro Engine life

About how many gallons of fuel is a Nitro Engine likely to last through? How do you maintain a engine so it lasts as long as possible. Also how often are the plugs suppose to be changed? Also will any plug work?

I am new to Nitro and am considering buying one.
Snipesr82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 04:24 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic

If you're new to nitro it would be wise to run %20 nitro for easier tuning and to go through less plugs. How many? That depends on how quickly you learn how to tune.

I can run a plug for 3 months. I usually change them before they burn out or before a big race.

How long an engine lasts? Your first one probably won't last long so don't buy an expensive one. Next, I don't believe these guys who say they get 10 gallons out of a motor just changing connecting rods. Hell, I get tired of a motor after 4-5 gallons and get a new one just because I can.
satoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 04:28 PM   #3
Tech Elite

All the novarossi based engines i've run have gotten at LEAST 3-4gallons before needing a pinch running no hotter than 250. The key to long life is watching engine temp favoring slightly rich during warmups. And when..not if. But when its starts to run funny put a front bearing in it. Usually every 1.5-2 gallons of fuel. I've seen more engines that are just getting fast turn to junk because they get an air leak and run hot.
schmelme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 04:31 PM   #4
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)

To add to the last post, I am a weekend racer that usually runs one day a week (sunday). In the last two seasons I used 4 and 4.5 gallons of fuel. I don't practice much though.