R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2007, 09:22 PM   #1
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,543
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default Mamba Max 5V BEC only?

Do the mamba max systems only do 5V BEC?
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 09:25 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yep... the built in is 5V. Their excuse for not making it 6v was something about a bunch of servos that are specd for only 5v. I explained to them that 99% of servos likely to be used in cars are good for 6v but it's too late now.

Some stupid heli and plane servos are indeed rated 5v but who cares about that...
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 09:27 PM   #3
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,543
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

wow that really sucks. I was excited to get this but really want full power to my servos. have to think about this more.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 09:31 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Sorry dude.
But really I don't worry about the 5v thing... usually everyone has overkill servos and dials them down anyway. If you are concerned... just run a more kicka$$ servo.
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 10:56 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
secretsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

It's the reason they haven't got my cash
secretsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 08:50 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Come on guys...

Seriously, many race servos are .10 or faster.... and you can't tell me that's not fast enough even on a measly 5v. Check out the specs for example the 9000s:

Torque: 112 oz/in @ 4.8V, 128 oz/in @ 6V
Speed: .08 sec/60 @ 4.8V, .06 sec/60 @ 6V

Not a huge difference between 5 and 6v there.... I think even Kinwald would approve of 112oz @ .08

I know not all servos are this fast, but it show that the difference isn't huge... unless you can tell .02 difference???

glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 08:52 AM   #7
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,543
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

what is the BEC rated at? is it heavy duty ? I know there was an issue with GTBs and the BECs.

For the price I am still interested, but the servo I am looking to use is in the specs I want at 6Vs, not a 5V.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 09:02 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I don't recall what Castle rates the bec for, but it's pretty heavy duty... I never needed to run a cap on my Spektrum rx. It's at least 3 amps.... but not sure exactly
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 09:15 AM   #9
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,543
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info. I really like what I see with the mamba max, better than the novaks, just wish this wasn't 5Vs but I will have to look and see maybe about just doing a different servo.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 11:23 PM   #10
Team Tekin
 
Randy Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Folsom,Ca
Posts: 247
Default

I wouldn't be worried about servo speed as much as I'd be worried about bec load issues like spectrum, personal transponders, etc all sharing that circuit. So you could run into problems with glitching I suppose. Use the spectrum cap and you'll be fine. Amperage is where you can get suckered into an inferior bec. 3+ amps is good. LRP, Tekin and KO are all right there.
Randy Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 03:10 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
alana07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: There
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to alana07
Default

i think you'd rather worry more on how many amps the BEC is rated than whether its 5V or 6V. if its 5V and 5amps, i'll gladly take it anytime over a 6V 2amp version.
__________________
没有最好,只有更好!!!
alana07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 08:50 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Castle says 3 amps... and like I said, in my experience I have not needed a cap, but it's not a bad idea to always run one anyway esp with the Spektrum.
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 10:13 AM   #13
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,543
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

I have a cap here after having issues running spektrum with a tekin g10 speedo.

ESC's on the way.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 11:33 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey Randy, where is Tekin at with their BL stuff? Gotta be soon??
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 02:13 PM   #15
Team Tekin
 
Randy Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Folsom,Ca
Posts: 247
Default

Yeah it's soon. Spoke with "someone" yesterday and the team drivers wait is very very short. It's hard to try and bring out as many products as Tekin is doing right now and being able to deliver the quality that they are known for. Some was comparing LRP and Tekin about releasing the QC3 and it's delay(s). I think all the anticipation in the air is thick and a lot of us are squirming about it. I'm so lazy right now I don't even want to cut my 9x1 Reedy Ti because if I take it out I don't want to put anything in but a Tekin Redline!

Seriously though if it was as simple to build thousands of esc's on site with all work done in house we'd had them a while back. But there isn't a single manufacturer that doesn't sub out some of the work and unfortunately that puts you at their mercy, ignorance, stupidity, and you take on their weakness's. Some of they Team Tekin guys had them at the Nats and loved them...

I'll post pictures of my Yokomo when I get mine which should be in the next week or so hopefully. There were some improperly loaded resistors which are super tiny and hard to hand solder, but their doing it anyways!
Randy Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mamba Micro Pro, mamba 8000kv, Spektrum 3001 rx, heat sink pinoyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-13-2008 06:19 PM
Mamba 4200 + Mamba 25 Shawner85 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-30-2008 05:54 PM
Mamba 5400 with mamba 25 esc for sale josh the 2nd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-14-2007 04:11 PM
MAMBA COMPETITION X 2080 and data cable / mamba 6800kv with esc tmaxxking R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-23-2006 10:59 AM
Mamba 8000/Mamba 25 esc coolkide R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 12-23-2004 05:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:54 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net