R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2007, 11:15 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default mamba max ?

I just put a mamba max 7700 in my RC10T3. Now Iíve lost half the range I used to have. As long as Iím close 15-20 ft it's ok, but when I get further away it starts glitching and shuddering. I have tried 2 different radio systems the first was a Futaba 2Ph the one in there now is the 3PM-FM it got a little better with the FM but it didnít stop it. Im starting to glitch and shudder. Any help would be wonderful. Thanx ,Joe.
italian101978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 03:45 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lancashire, England
Posts: 123
Send a message via MSN to Apexs
Default

try looking here and post if you cant find any info, http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...6&page=9&pp=30
Apexs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 08:37 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Experiment with tehe location of hte reciever... even try putting it on the servo and see what happens... also route the antenna away from the motor and esc.

The MM does tend to have more radio issues but you should have a good range.

How far was the range before? Sound like maybe it wasn't very good then either so maybe a new radio/rx will be needed?
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 08:53 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mt. Holly, NC
Posts: 1,181
Default

Add a glitch buster to an open channel in the R/X. It is usually a capacitor that keeps the current to the R/X stable. Depending on the battery pack you are using the Mamba maybe pulling to much current if it is small capacity pack. Futaba and Novak make them or even the local hobby shop can make one for you. Again they are just a capacitor with a Futaba plug to plug into the R/X.



Quote:
Description
The Glitch Buster Capacitor is Novakís weapon in the war against glitching. The same technology that professional racers around the world have been using to fight glitching problems is now available for everyone. The Glitch Buster works by storing power from the BEC, and acting as a filter to eliminate any noises generated by servos that can wreak havoc on your radio system. Another benefit of using Novakís Glitch Buster is that it reduces the load on the ESCís BEC, and improves response time, which makes the servo faster! The high-capacity, super low-resistance capacitor comes pre-wired and ready to install into any standard receiver. Simply plug it directly into any open channel or battery slot on the receiver, and experience a glitch-free ride.
Here is the link to the web site: http://www.shopatron.com/product/pro...=NOV5626/135.0

Let us know if that fixed it?
Craps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 11:35 AM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
pserve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Just put a MM5700 in my XXX-4 yesterday and I seem to be getting glitches now too. While screaming around the track, it occasionally seems to slam on the brakes for a split-second. I can hear the belt skip when that happens, so I checked the driveline and couldn't find anything else that could be causing it. My radio is 75MHz FM.
Attached Thumbnails
mamba max ?-mmxxx4.jpg  
pserve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 02:50 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
carbon madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northwestern, Indiana
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

pserve is that blue box your receiver, if so that is your problem.
The wires form the ESC to motor make electrical noise which will cause interference to the receiver. Your best bet is to try and get both the ESC and receiver as far apart as possible to help prevent that from happening. Another way to help is to make the wires shorter, and braid them together to help cancel the electrical noise that causes interference (making them shorter will help to keep the wires away form the receiver).
__________________
マイクル ユージャック 

*Team CFX Racing**Evil 3 Paint Works*
carbon madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 08:06 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pserve
While screaming around the track, it occasionally seems to slam on the brakes for a split-second.
I have seen the same thing at times... I really don't know what is causing it... I run Spektrum and my rx is not near the esc... several different cars too.

It doesn't happen much but I have seen it a few times. It can't be good on the drivetrain for sure.
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 12:28 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
blue.coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dresden TN
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to blue.coupe
Default

Has anyone figured out a fix for the glitching problems?
blue.coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 12:32 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,644
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Did you check for a bare spot on a wire that might be grouding the signal?

I ran an XXX4 with the electronics in he same exact layout and never had any trouble on three different types of tracks. However it wasn't a Mamba ESC.
nutz4rcyktw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 12:58 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
blue.coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dresden TN
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to blue.coupe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutz4rcyktw View Post
Did you check for a bare spot on a wire that might be grouding the signal?

I ran an XXX4 with the electronics in he same exact layout and never had any trouble on three different types of tracks. However it wasn't a Mamba ESC.
Yes I have checked just about everything, tried a different radio, receiver, module, even put my radio on a non BL truck(with no glitch).
blue.coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 01:04 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

had same problems get 2.4 radio or shortn wires make sure ur receiver is as far away as poss. but if u go 2.4 u will be all good
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 01:30 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
blue.coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dresden TN
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to blue.coupe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjs_13203 View Post
had same problems get 2.4 radio or shortn wires make sure ur receiver is as far away as poss. but if u go 2.4 u will be all good
Gonna try that this afternoon. Will let you know how it does.
blue.coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 01:45 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Good ol' mamba's !!


I actually got to use a car with one this weekend and it is by far not on par with a gtb, SP, and lrp. But hey you can have reverse and tune it on your laptop !
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 01:51 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
SQC049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,851
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RB FIVE View Post
Good ol' mamba's !!


I actually got to use a car with one this weekend and it is by far not on par with a gtb, SP, and lrp. But hey you can have reverse and tune it on your laptop !
I knew you wouldn't let an opportunity like this pass you by!
__________________
Andrew Parente
| Serpent America | Picco | AKA | LRP America | Desoto Racing | PT Racing Oils | TQ Wire |
SQC049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 02:00 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

just a matter of time till he showed up, lol. my mm5700 is all good, turns my sp into a rocket from what he says i would be screwed with a REAL system.
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mamba Micro Pro, mamba 8000kv, Spektrum 3001 rx, heat sink pinoyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-13-2008 06:19 PM
Mamba 4200 + Mamba 25 Shawner85 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-30-2008 05:54 PM
Mamba 5400 with mamba 25 esc for sale josh the 2nd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-14-2007 04:11 PM
MAMBA COMPETITION X 2080 and data cable / mamba 6800kv with esc tmaxxking R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-23-2006 10:59 AM
Mamba 8000/Mamba 25 esc coolkide R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 12-23-2004 05:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net