R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2008, 07:11 PM   #31
Tech Elite
 
SQC049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,850
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott54 View Post
99% of racers don't need features on their esc?
I never said that, now you're putting words in my mouth. I said nobody needs things like expo curves, or bringing their laptop to the track.

It is like talking to a 5th grader.
__________________
Andrew Parente
| Serpent America | Picco | AKA | LRP America | Desoto Racing | PT Racing Oils | TQ Wire |
SQC049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 07:19 PM   #32
Nik
Tech Regular
 
Nik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: California
Posts: 286
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just because you dont have the option of tuning an adjustment doesn't mean its useless.

And again, where did you read you NEED a laptop to program a mamba?
__________________
I can ride my bike with no handlebars.
Nik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 07:43 PM   #33
Tech Addict
 
scott54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQC049 View Post
My argument is that it is overly complicated with features that 99% of the racers out there do not need.

__________________
TLR Racing - ARCS Speedway - B-Fast Racing - Dialed RC - G-Force
scott54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 08:10 PM   #34
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQC049 View Post
I never said that, now you're putting words in my mouth. I said nobody needs things like expo curves, or bringing their laptop to the track.

It is like talking to a 5th grader.
No worries bro, I was so happy to try the mamba and it felt chitty. There's no point..... Your a fanboy when you recommend 3 different alternatives.


Still not roar approved.....
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 08:17 PM   #35
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pserve View Post
In my case, the problem was that "blue box". It was an Airtronics 75Mhz FM Synth receiver. I put a Spektrum in shortly afterward and everything has been fine since. The layout and wiring is still the same.
well im happy ur all good now, i had same problem till i got a speky
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 08:23 PM   #36
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjs_13203 View Post
well im happy ur all good now, i had same problem till i got a speky
Funny thing is spektrum got me back into the hobby. I used to race nitro touring cars and i hated waiting for practice time or the clip to get my motor warmed up and ready for racing. I love spektrum.
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 08:34 PM   #37
Tech Regular
 
blue.coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dresden TN
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to blue.coupe
Default

Spektrum 2.4 GHz fixed the glitching...and as far as all this other stuff.. This sounds like Domestic V/S Imports
blue.coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 09:59 PM   #38
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pserve View Post
Just put a MM5700 in my XXX-4 yesterday and I seem to be getting glitches now too. While screaming around the track, it occasionally seems to slam on the brakes for a split-second. I can hear the belt skip when that happens, so I checked the driveline and couldn't find anything else that could be causing it. My radio is 75MHz FM.
If you really cured it when you replaced your receiver with a spectrum, I am glad for you. I was never that lucky. I owned two mamba max systems, one 5700kv and one 7700kv, ran spectrum pro receivers as far away from power wires and the motor as possible, exzes plus digital radio, lipos, only running the best equipment, and never fully got rid of the cogging, hesitations that happened. I noticed it especially when I was running oval. Just all of the sudden out of nowhere, it would hesitate, and cause me to go off course, run into a barrier or whatever.
__________________
High Desert Raceplace, Grand Jct CO, Sanwa Exzes Plus Stick Radio, Spektrum,Thunderpower 230g, Modified Tri-Nut Novak GTB2, Ballistic 4.5t 550, 5.83lb SCTE Ten, Novak Sentry Brushless Dyno, Crossweight Setup Station, Junsi 20A power supply Icharger 20A Charger,TP610C, 22B, Novak Edge, Novak 13.5, SC10, Havoc Pro SC XDrive, Ballistic 17.5 Matthew Joseph Cordova
mattnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 10:12 PM   #39
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

luv my speky dont have to really worry about anything, though mine is old(dx2) still seems to do the trick. never had a problem
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 10:20 PM   #40
Nik
Tech Regular
 
Nik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: California
Posts: 286
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Heres a little 'secret'.

The number one cause for cogging are the bullet connectors between the motor and esc. The old ones were crap and would arc and create mega resistance. I eliminated the plugs. guess what... no problems
__________________
I can ride my bike with no handlebars.
Nik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 10:23 PM   #41
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

ah never knew that
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 10:47 PM   #42
Tech Apprentice
 
pserve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yup, Nik's got it exactly right. I changed those too.
pserve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 07:18 AM   #43
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQC049 View Post
I never said that, now you're putting words in my mouth. I said nobody needs things like expo curves, or bringing their laptop to the track.

It is like talking to a 5th grader.
As usual, the Mamba bashers miss the point and don't listen.

The programming features can be used IF you like... to make it feel like YOU want it to. I personally think that RB FIVE could have dialed it in to make it suit him better.

It's the same as other brands... a Novak or LRP can feel like crap too if you have it set up "wrong". It will run, but it won't feel good.

Right now I have a Speedpassion GT in my T4 and an LRP Sphere in my B4 where it has been for over a year. I have a Mamba in my 4wd and have run it in the track and buggy too, as well as all my 1/8 stuff.

You boys need to stop assuming "we" are all just ignorant and blind... and don't know better.

And I DON"T recommend it to everyone... but it's a viable option for those who don't care about ROAR and don't mind using 21st century technology like a laptop, and don't have to have what the guy next to him has.

It's not for everyone... fine. Go run something else and be happy. Why do find it necessary to keep posting on all the Mamba threads? Forum police? Savior?
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 07:26 AM   #44
Tech Elite
 
SQC049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,850
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glassdoctor View Post
As usual, the Mamba bashers miss the point and don't listen.

The programming features can be used IF you like... to make it feel like YOU want it to. I personally think that RB FIVE could have dialed it in to make it suit him better.

It's the same as other brands... a Novak or LRP can feel like crap too if you have it set up "wrong". It will run, but it won't feel good.

Right now I have a Speedpassion GT in my T4 and an LRP Sphere in my B4 where it has been for over a year. I have a Mamba in my 4wd and have run it in the track and buggy too, as well as all my 1/8 stuff.

You boys need to stop assuming "we" are all just ignorant and blind... and don't know better.

And I DON"T recommend it to everyone... but it's a viable option for those who don't care about ROAR and don't mind using 21st century technology like a laptop, and don't have to have what the guy next to him has.

It's not for everyone... fine. Go run something else and be happy. Why do find it necessary to keep posting on all the Mamba threads? Forum police? Savior?
Actually, this is the first Mamba thread that I have posted in. I've stayed out of these arguments because they always seem to go nowhere....Like this thread.

That being said, I have my opinion, you have yours. Lets just agree to disagree and leave it at that.
__________________
Andrew Parente
| Serpent America | Picco | AKA | LRP America | Desoto Racing | PT Racing Oils | TQ Wire |
SQC049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 07:47 AM   #45
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Cool... but we know RB FIVE trolls the mamba threads
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mamba Micro Pro, mamba 8000kv, Spektrum 3001 rx, heat sink pinoyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-13-2008 06:19 PM
Mamba 4200 + Mamba 25 Shawner85 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-30-2008 05:54 PM
Mamba 5400 with mamba 25 esc for sale josh the 2nd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-14-2007 04:11 PM
MAMBA COMPETITION X 2080 and data cable / mamba 6800kv with esc tmaxxking R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-23-2006 10:59 AM
Mamba 8000/Mamba 25 esc coolkide R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 12-23-2004 05:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net