R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2007, 10:05 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to Brushless Corey
Default Question regarding Novak GTB's...

I recently bought a Velociti GTB 5.5 setup for me XX-4. When I installed it, I put the GTB right behind the motor being it seems that is the best place for it. Only problem is the long wires. Can you cut these wires without causing any issues? I have zip ties and the wires all bundled up and it kinda looks like crap. I'm just wanting to clean it up a little.

Thanks.....

Corey
Brushless Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 12:25 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
TheTurtleMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: BFE
Posts: 1,581
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

You can shorten the motor power wires, but I wouldn't cut the sensor wires. But that's just my opinion.
__________________
CLICK HERE FOR ALL YOUR RADIO AND MORE SKINZ!!!!

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=184104

WWW.BUSTOUTBMX.COM
TheTurtleMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 12:52 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to Brushless Corey
Default

I'm just wanting to shorten the 3 (blue, orange, yellow) wires from the motor to the ESC and leave everything else alone. As it sits the wires are all bunched up and looks like a big glob all around and in between the motor and ESC.
Brushless Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 08:41 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
TheTurtleMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: BFE
Posts: 1,581
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

No prob on those wires. I did all 3 of my brushlees cars.
__________________
CLICK HERE FOR ALL YOUR RADIO AND MORE SKINZ!!!!

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=184104

WWW.BUSTOUTBMX.COM
TheTurtleMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 10:33 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to Brushless Corey
Default

Thanks. I guess that'll give me something to do until I can get some batteries for my XX-4 made up.
Brushless Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 11:09 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
AzBobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 312
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

yes as he said you most definetely can cut those three wires. also with it right behind the motor, you are going to need to have the fan on the esc, as well as some pretty good holes on that side of the body to get fresh air in there. also follow the chart in the instructions regarding the gearing, so you cause more heat than necessary by over or ubder gearing.
__________________
GO TECH
AzBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 11:52 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to Brushless Corey
Default

My XX-4 has the stock gearing in it right now. I have the fan on the GTB and there is a hole in the body for air flow. Is there any other suggestion to where to place the GTB other than right behind the motor? I thought about trying to mount it on the spot where the reciever goes, but there wouldn't be a good amount of air flow to it unless I cut the front window out and I won't be doing that.
Brushless Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 02:40 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Yes you can shorten them if needed. I too am running the 6.5 in my XX4 and have had to shorten them to get them to work.
__________________
Our government is a #$%$ joke, from the head jester on down
RIP Mike M
BuggyKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 03:19 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
AzBobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 312
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

after looking at car and its layout you dont have much choice. witht he fan and the holes to the motor area along with not running to big of a pinion you'll be ok. plus it is heavier than the reciever anyway so mounting it up un top of the center would be handling death anyways.
__________________
GO TECH
AzBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:21 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Posts: 259
Send a message via AIM to Brushless Corey
Default

Well I got off work early tonight, so I will be taking the 5.5 out of my XX-4. I may just get crazy with it and put it in my BK2 til I get some batteries made for it.

THanks fellas
Brushless Corey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: lipos, novak motors, novak GTB's BSS07 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 08-26-2008 07:31 PM
RDX, GTB's, Brushless Motors, and More!! Take a Look!! FTTim R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 08-10-2008 04:50 PM
AMB Transponder, KO & Hitec Servos, Novak GTB's, Spektrum SR3500 & SR3000 Receivers HoustonAreaRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-06-2008 01:40 PM
Novak Spektrum GTB's and motors 13.5 , 10.5 ,7.5 Stewart Fan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 26 01-20-2008 06:59 PM
Novak GTB's Must Go CorallyBQuiK R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 11-22-2007 04:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:14 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net