R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2007, 08:02 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
wb-racer-ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to wb-racer-ace
Default OS .21 VG

anyone have any opinions on this motor for 1/8th scale off road. what tuning tips may you have. just picked one up. I have a JP1 pipe and a firoini clutch for it.
wb-racer-ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:28 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
speed metal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The VG/RG is a stalwart in the 1/8 scale offroad world. Lots of bottom and mid with a decent top. Easy to tune and holds a tune well. This engine has many fans. I know people that run them excusively in both buggy and truggy. I'm sure you'll like it!

regards

speed metal
speed metal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:40 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
mach51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 4,278
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

if i didnt have a stable of vspecs id get the VG
mach51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 10:20 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
maxxman101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clarkston, WA
Posts: 620
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to maxxman101
Default

i just picked one up but gonna wait to break it in until it warms up a little. i have been told to add a shim if you are gonna run 30% fuel through it though.
__________________
My stable:
Revo 3.3, Kyosho 777 SP2, Kyosho ZX5, Robitronics Scalpel, AE RC18T, TLT1.
Futaba 3PKS with Spektrum
maxxman101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 10:38 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Coral gables, Florida
Posts: 1,265
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to infanterene
Default

Mine only lasted me about 1.5 gallons including breakin but that is probably not typical.
infanterene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 10:45 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 97
Default

Good motor but everyone of them Ive seen has had the carb leak. Easy fix with some gasket sealer. There is only one o-ring at the base of the carb. Mine was acting up and sucking air. Sealed it up and it was fixed.
__________________
MBX6
X2
O.S. SPEEDs
Hitecs
M11
DSM
and a Retired 8ight.
MonkeyWrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 07:00 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hi Desert
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I loved mine for the first gallon, low compression, whould'nt hold tune,
another fellow racer loves his, on his 3rd gallon with no problems, maybe I got
a bad one. replaced with Hot Mod Rex R21BF big difference
sbales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 09:39 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Steve Walters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Great motor for smaller tracks or club races. I'm running one with a JP-3 pipe, and my V-Spec on Bigger full layout tracks. But, like MonkeyWrench said, take the carb off and Air-Seal it, or with some Higher temp gasket sealer right of the bat. It may not have a carb air leak, but to save yourself a lot of headache (If it does) just spend 5 minutes and seal it. Trust me... There are 3-4 VG at our track and all have had small air leak(s) around the carb at one point or another. Once mine got sealed up tight, the motor came alive! A ton of Low-Med punch with a good top end. (Empty tanks temps 220-230)

Racer Choice Air-seal is great product to have anyways. But its hard to find at time.

http://www.carolinasrc.com/Webstore/...?idproduct=420
__________________
"CVR" Central Valley Raceway (Madera, CA)
Team "WTF" Racing member
TEAM BCE (Product/Field Tester)

X-Ray 808 (Active Diff)
BCE 8X8 Pro Chassis
OS Speed (XCustoms Head Mod)
Hitec 5995TG (S&T)
M11 & Spectrum.
Steve Walters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 04:39 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
wb-racer-ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to wb-racer-ace
Default

thanks for the imput!! the only thing on it I'm going to change right away is the cooling head, needs to be larger with a few more fins. I'm going to make a new one this week.
wb-racer-ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 04:06 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
wb-racer-ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to wb-racer-ace
Default

got the monster head started!! should be done friday
Attached Thumbnails
OS .21 VG-head1.jpg   OS .21 VG-head3.jpg  
wb-racer-ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 04:38 PM   #11
vr6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: rockford illinois
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

(wb-racer-ace) what kind of machine are using there? are you doing any live tooling work also?
__________________
Ko Propo. Hobbywing. Jconcepts. SMC cells

Also my local track Race em r/c. Rockford Illinois
vr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 05:42 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
wb-racer-ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to wb-racer-ace
Default

I'm turning it in a HAAS SL30 lathe, unfortunatly it doesnt have live tooling. I'm going to do the secondary work on the VF4, (HAAS VMC)
wb-racer-ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 09:38 PM   #13
vr6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: rockford illinois
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

looks like you have the the stock setup in a bar feeder chuck. did you write the program in cam or did you use something like quick codes?
__________________
Ko Propo. Hobbywing. Jconcepts. SMC cells

Also my local track Race em r/c. Rockford Illinois
vr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 02:57 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
wb-racer-ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to wb-racer-ace
Default

yep, using a collet system and bar feeder, no CAM or quick code, I'm old school, write the program at the machine, out of my head.
wb-racer-ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 04:39 PM   #15
vr6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: rockford illinois
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

what did you use for speeds and feeds to do the fins? and what did you use for tooling to do that operation? i want to make a head for my motor also, but wasn't sure what about tooling choices. i'm really not in the mood to fight with surface finishes
__________________
Ko Propo. Hobbywing. Jconcepts. SMC cells

Also my local track Race em r/c. Rockford Illinois
vr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net