R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2007, 12:39 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
mxnut273's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: socal
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default why am i losing charging amps

PRODUCTS--CHECKPOINT RACE 3300 BATT.//LRP PULSAR 2 COMP.CHARGER//DYNAMITE 12V DC POWER SUPPLY

MY PROBLEM IS WHEN I AM CHARGING MY BATTS AT 6AMPS, WHEN THE BATTERIES GET TO ABOUT 2700,2800,2900 MY CHARGING AMPS START TO DROP TO ABOUT 4.5-5AMPS WHY IS THIS?????
THANKS
mxnut273 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 06:18 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Sneaky Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 188
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you are using flex charging instead of linear charging.
Sneaky Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 06:54 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
AzBobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 312
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

check out the settings on your charger and make sure that it is not set up to lower the amp rate when the pack is about to peak. however that drop in amps at the end gives you more run time and the 6 amp at the start helps your punch. kinda like the step charger from orion.
__________________
GO TECH
AzBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:22 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tfrahm
Default

It might be that your power supply is weak...

If that is the case, as the battery approaches full charge, it takes more and more VOLTS from the charger/power supply combination to push the juice into the pack... Especially if the battery has some age on it, the IR will have gone up and the voltage it peaks at can climb -- if the power supply is weak, it will lose voltage when it is working hard...
__________________
"If you cannot win, make the one ahead of you break the record."
Biff Racing Team #420 (Ah... The "good old days"...)
The local indoor Offroad Track: The RC Race Barn
TLR22-3.0, TLR22T-2.0, TLR22SCT-1.0
tfrahm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:27 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
AzBobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 312
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

right. also the first reply is a good thing to check in linear charge or flex charge mode. forgot the names of the profiles in that charger haven't used one in awhile.
__________________
GO TECH
AzBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on Hyperion/Lipos charging Amps? Paul Whalen Electric Off-Road 9 01-20-2008 06:46 PM
ESC 600 AMPS LINEAR 1200 AMPS MAX Windbreaker_guy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-30-2007 03:49 AM
Charging amps? gofastrlbrown Electric On-Road 5 07-27-2006 11:24 AM
LD3...losing the backend. fishstix Nitro On-Road 5 03-16-2006 11:49 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net