R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2007, 09:36 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
jgroenhof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Reactor 30

I have the integy Reactor 30. Last night I hooked up a multimeter to it to see where it actually cutoff. 4.2v for a 6 cell (gp3300) pack. This seems too low. Funny thing about it, as soon as the button popped the voltage jumped right back up to 7.2v. It gradually climbed from there, even with the fan running.

I have heard, but never opened it up, that there is an adjustable pot inside.
Should I bother? Also thought it was a bit strange how the voltege came back up. Any thoughts?
__________________
Johnny G
OCRC.
jgroenhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 08:37 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
gubbs3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 619
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I use a Reactor 30 for my Trinity spec packs. And yes I have experienced the same thing you have. Under a high load, the voltage of any battery will drop significantly. Its the nature of the beast. Try driving after discharging. You'll get about 20 feet and roll to a stop.
gubbs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 10:22 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

you can adjust the cutoff form the back. There is an adjustmanet pot for cut off. It is normal for to see the voltage come back up one the load is removed. do not worry about this. Also you will want to equalize the cells on aomething like a smart tray or the Tekin battery Dr before you charge. This way you will get a better into your cells. And more power fom them.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 12:48 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
jgroenhof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

What really made me think about this is the fact that when I tray the packs, after discharge, there is no more voltage to drop.

This is when borrowing a Smart Tray, set to .09v.

Should I set the reactor to something like a 1.0v cutoff, leaving some voltage for the tray to do it's work?
__________________
Johnny G
OCRC.
jgroenhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indi Reactor 30 dodgeguy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 02-23-2007 05:20 AM
Indi Reactor djssafeseat R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 11-19-2006 10:20 AM
Indi Reactor 30 brians11 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 09-19-2005 04:57 PM
WTB: Integy 030 or Reactor 30 josh69162 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 09-12-2005 03:54 PM
Indy Reactor 30 Cole Trickle Electric On-Road 0 03-10-2004 05:08 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:12 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net