R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 01-12-2007, 08:27 AM   #1
Tech Adept

Default Considering some OFNA/CEN Buggies

I'm a newb to RC Tech, so hello!

I'm on a hunt for a new 1/8 scale RTR. I've have been reading around and it seams that I may be leaning towards a new OFNA buggy. I've litsted several RTR buggies/truggies below.
I UNDERSTAND that there may be better buggies that cost more money and may save me in the long run. But I like to start middle of the road and upgrade. To me that's half the fun and helps me learn the car. These are the ones I'm looking at:

OFNA

HYPER 7 RTR - $259.95 SHIPPED
ULTRA COMP 2 RTR - $279.95 SHIPPED
RAVAGER RTR - $329.95 SHIPPED
HYPER 7 PBS RTR - $339.95 SHIPPED
Mutilator RTR - $389.95 - Shipped

CEN

MATRIX RTR - $400 SHIPPED

Kyosho

Inferno Sports 3 RTR - $369.95 SHIPPED
Inferno Sports MP7.5 Sports 2 - $349.95 Shipped
Inferno ST US Sports Ready Set - $369.95 Shipped

Hot Bodies

Lightning Stadium RR RTR - $379.95

This will be my first buggy/truggy, my first nitro car. I wan't something that I can mess around with that may potentially be made race ready if I decide to get in to racing. But I have a few questions.

1. I'm assuming since the motors are bigger, the use more fuel. Is it significantly more?

2. What is typcially the largest motor allowed for buggy/truggy racing?

3. I can afford all the below, but $400 really is my cap. Please advise what the best choice would be for someone that primarily wants to mess around with friends but may contemplate club or sanctioned racing in the future.

Thanks for all your input!
TxCZShooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 10:17 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)

for buggy the largest engine is 21, for truggy if the track uses roar or pro series rules, the largest is 28, but alot of club level tracks let you run anything in truggy,
bobf24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 10:33 AM   #3
Tech Master