Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Anyone using Spektrum's telemetry unit? >

Anyone using Spektrum's telemetry unit?

Anyone using Spektrum's telemetry unit?

Reply

Old 01-11-2007, 03:05 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default Anyone using Spektrum's telemetry unit?

Picked up one of these units the other day for the 8ight I just built. The temp sensor fits nicely around the head and gives a good consistant reading. The battery voltage is a no-brainer. It picks up its signal off the power line input.

The RPM sensor is the issue for me right now. Spektrum shows in their installation guide to put a dot on the back of the flywheel and mount the sensor at the end of a supplied aluminum piece mount on top of the engine mount using the 2 cap screws pointing right at the back of the flywheel.

The flywheel on the 8 is small in diameter and there is only about an 1/8 inch showing outside of the front of the engine. To complicate things, a couple tabs on the mount of my Picco P7R EVO 2 have little tabs that would block the aluminum piece from fitting without a little grinding. The main issue is the dot on the flywheel.

I tried putting different stickers and tape on the clutch bell and pointing the sensor at it but I could not get any reliable consistant readings.

I know it the sensor works fine. I can wave it back and forth over a finger and it gets a reasonable reading.

Any ideas on how to get a reading on this? What do you do? Any ideas for materials to stick on there?

Thanks
Dexmo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 06:18 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 302
Default

Dexmo - were you able to figure something out with this? I have an 8ight and am looking at getting the telemetry unit (I have a dx3 now)
gtsum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 10:42 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
 
totaldomination's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 71
Default

ya those little stikers are dumb and i just took the rpm sensor off after i lost all the stickers but it is god to know how hot ur running and how much voltage u have i was thinkin mabe epoxy the stiker on and that might help getting u a consistant reading
totaldomination is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service