R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2007, 04:00 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default Trinity DPD Issue

I just got one of these, and for the life of me I cannot get the thing to consistently "see" my packs. I have redone all of my packs (Deans solder and 3.0 bars) on an Orion Jig, and I still can't get it to discharge them. I continue to get an error that basically says no battery is hooked up, or something of that nature, and after 3 attempts goes back to the cutoff screen. I don't really know how to solve this bcause the little prongs ALL contact the bars OR battery cell itself when I put it in the tray. Does anyone have any idea what I can try to do before I give up on it?

My packs are IB4200 cells.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 05:50 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Great Bend, Kansas
Posts: 1
Default

turn the battery around so the positive side without a battery bar faces you
brindo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 06:26 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

I have it like that as it is, I will post a pic tonight of my batteries and it erroring.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 07:51 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
todd8603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oshawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Not sure

Not sure but......a slight scuff on the contacts might help detect batts more readily.
Mine does this rarely... sometime a slight wiggle of the locked batt causes it to be detected next time around. Be patinet, its good for the batts.
todd8603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 10:09 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default








Thats what it looks like, I can't be patient, it never works. That is individual cells as well.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 03:39 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 32
Default

I have the same issue....sometimes it wont read my packs, forget about my saddlepacks, doesn't read them either. Was going to e-mail Trinity. They brag about the secure contact,but I never have a problemwith my smart tray.
johnnyboydh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 11:57 AM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
tyreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: U.K
Posts: 55
Default

Before knocking the product are you positive it's not 1 or more of your IB cells that may have shorted out as they aren't supposed to be discharged down that low, as the cell's voltage will go into the negative.

These cells are nowhere near as durable as the GP cells but they do have more voltage and power for the first 6-7 charges.

Check each cell with a DMV meter, each cell should read no less than 1.23v per cell when discharged and 1.45v when fully charged, if you are getting a figure lower than 1.23v then the cell is the problem.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Schumacher, Speed Passion, Speed Power, Custom Blitz, RudeBits, Sanwa, Racer, Ripmax, Muchmore Racing, B-Fast RC performance parts, Nuclear-RC
tyreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 12:18 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

They are all brand new EXCEPT for the ones in the pics. I have 4 IB4200 packs and that 3800. None of them read, yet they all charge fine.

Its fine I sold it on Ebay anyway, Im not wasting my time on it and Trinity never even got back to me for assistance.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 02:46 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
tyreman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: U.K
Posts: 55
Default

I know you said you have sold it but did you select internal or external pack??

If it was set on external it would ask you to connect a pack even with one locked in the tray.
__________________
Schumacher, Speed Passion, Speed Power, Custom Blitz, RudeBits, Sanwa, Racer, Ripmax, Muchmore Racing, B-Fast RC performance parts, Nuclear-RC
tyreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 04:35 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Eggyolkeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 637
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I agree, don't be knocking the product when surely there's an explanation. I know many people including myself with one without fault.

Are the packs you're using even soldered together? The one in the pic doesn't appear to be. You need them to be connected or it won't work.
Eggyolkeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 09:58 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Ok I'm not an idiot k? I soldered all of my packs, and then thinking it was my fault, redid each one two times and none of them still worked. It's no biggie, but evidently I'm not the only one with the issue.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 10:57 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

All my packs charge fine but they won't read in my DPD unless I have them in specific way. It says right on them that positive is top left/bottom right. I direct solder and my solder tabs have to be on the bottom, not on the top of the pack. They still face out though. If I put it in with the solder tabs up, it won't read. Flip them over to have the tabs on the bottom and it's fine.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 03:03 AM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 32
Default

I too am not an idiot. I have raced electric RC since '86 and understand electronics fine. I have tried everything to get them to read....EVERYTHING....It likes the side by side pack 95% of the time. Does not read my saddle packs at all. Contacts are all touching fine and have tried them both ways. All the cells are fine. I know others who have the same problem. I own two of these and they both do it. Not too pleased with them to be honest.
johnnyboydh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 09:51 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

I went ahead and purchased the Much More Discharger, a lot more expensive but I'm guessing it will actually work with my packs.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 12:54 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

One other thing I tried was taking an xato knife and just scraping away the top layer of solder fom the battery bars. Sometimes the flux can act like an insulator. Some sand paper would also work.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!! ESC Issue Chris__RC Electric Off-Road 6 08-31-2008 01:31 PM
XXX-S Issue Sweeney921 Electric On-Road 18 01-22-2007 08:07 AM
DPD issue Racingfreak6 Electric On-Road 5 01-01-2007 09:56 AM
Trinity DPD issue jeffbhhs Electric On-Road 10 12-30-2006 02:52 AM
OS .12 5p issue Black_Widow Nitro On-Road 4 12-18-2006 10:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net