R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2007, 07:24 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Default !!!!!POWER SUPPLY QUESTION!!!!!

hi guys i wanted to ask if it will be ok to use a computer power supply for my charger that meets the same requirement (12 volt 5 amp) but the charger that is made for my duratrax Piranha digital charger is the switching power supply rated 7 amp and 12 volt. and what is the differance of the switching power supply and will the computer power supply work i am on a pretty tight budget thanks guys
Ae13291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 09:17 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Yes it should work. I don't know about charging them at 12 volts though.
__________________
Our government is a #$%$ joke, from the head jester on down
RIP Mike M
BuggyKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 09:24 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

A computer PS is a switched power supply. The only problem you may have is if you want to charge your packs at over 5amp.

And XXXCRRacer, all our DC chargers use a 12V PS and step down the voltage as required by the pack.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 09:50 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Default

hay guys i also found a ibm power supply guys but this ones output is 16 volts and 7.2 amps is there any possible way i can use it? thanks alot guys
Ae13291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 11:19 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
AssocRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Greenfield, WI
Posts: 2,295
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AssocRacer Send a message via Yahoo to AssocRacer
Default

you have to modify the power supply for it to even work. It won't even turn on unless it's plugged into a computer motherboard. I know i modified one before, you have to get a couple of 10watt, 10 ohm resistors, and then you have to put a switch on the 5v leads that switch the power supply on. if you don't know anything about computer powersupplies or don't have a general knowledge of electronics, i wouldn't try this. I don't remember how to do it (it's been like two years since i did it) but i'm sure if you do a search on the internet, you can find out how. If i get a chance, i'll take mine apart and look at it again and post here on how to do it. Again, unless you're good with electronics and good at soldering, don't try this. I soldered professionally for a few years on PC boards, so i knew what i was doing when i did this.
__________________
Lots O' Planes
AssocRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 12:25 AM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Default

ya well i really want to modify this power supply badly because i dont want to spend the extra cash to buy a new power supply, well in electronics i am ok i started of learning by my mistakes and then i would learn new things all the time i am now pretty good in soldiering jobs, but i dont usally solider to circuit boards if i do i am definetly going to need a desolidering tool but i am up for the challenge to it there is a radioshack few blocks from my house i guess thats where i can get all the supplies and i have an ohm's meter i am pretty good with testing many things, so if you can help me and tell me what to exacctly do i will be able to do it, thank you so much i am looking forward to your help man! thanks
Ae13291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 12:38 AM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Default

oh and also here are some pics of my power supply i would like to modify

[IMG]107_0086[/IMG]


[IMG]107_0087[/IMG]


[IMG]107_0088[/IMG]
Ae13291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 12:39 AM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Default

damm why dident the pics work
Ae13291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 08:11 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Default

ok guys here i finally got some pics of the power supply i plan on modifying
Attached Thumbnails
!!!!!POWER SUPPLY QUESTION!!!!!-107_0086.jpg   !!!!!POWER SUPPLY QUESTION!!!!!-107_0087.jpg   !!!!!POWER SUPPLY QUESTION!!!!!-107_0088.jpg  
Ae13291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 09:07 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Rysuleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That is a laptop power supply obviously. I've only ever seen people modifying a desktop computer power supply.

I use this power supply because it's cheap and it works. It has been recommended many times on this board by others. You're probably best off getting this one than trying to buy a desktop power supply and mod it.

Pyramid 20 Amp Switching Power Supply
Rysuleod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 10:19 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Didn't realize you were referring to a brick. No, I don't think that will work as a power supply without substantial mods. First, I believe that the voltage output is above the 12-14 volts input that most DC charges are designed for and two, I don't believe that these will take the load of charging a pack at 5 amps.

I thought you were talking about the PS from a desktop computer.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 05:11 PM   #12
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Default

oh ya also guys do any of u might want to trade this ibm power suppply for a power supply made for my charger atleast 6 amp power supply, this ibm power supply cost over $70 do u think anybody might want to buy it thanks
Ae13291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 05:49 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Richland, WA
Posts: 1,675
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

YOu can get an Integy Power Supply, one of the SHE, with 12 volt 10 amp for about 70 bucks.
Rod
gatermaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Question Newell33 Electric Off-Road 19 07-12-2008 02:39 PM
Power Supply Question cutwo Rookie Zone 1 12-27-2006 09:43 PM
power supply Question James605 Electric On-Road 6 04-23-2006 06:30 PM
Power Supply/GFX Question tc3blue Electric On-Road 8 10-04-2005 01:11 AM
Just got my power supply and i have a question wallstreet Rookie Zone 8 05-12-2005 04:46 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net