R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 01-03-2007, 05:58 AM   #1
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default proline nitro buggy tyres belted?

im a newbie offroader, and have always raced onroad electric. i made my first set of proline crime fighters and bowties for my nitro 8th, and noticed they are not belted. is there a reason for this? i've noticed on action pics that the tyres baloon out alot under acceleration, why not create belted tyres to stop balooning and increase the life of the tyre?

do non belted tyres create more grip?
TomB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 07:29 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

i do not know why they arent already belted, would seem like a good idea. but many people put straping tape along the inside of the tire, to keep it from ballooning.
Johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 04:35 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic

Never raced onroad myself, do their tyres come belted to they?

I dont belt the tyres on any of my offroaders, EP truck, EP 4wd or nitro MT... dont suffer any problems with balooning... but then, the 1:8 buggies and truggies have centre diffs which tend to get the fronts dishplating if the front end unloads...

Bit of ballooning doesnt go astray, gives you a bit of extra speed down the straights...
Bit_Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 08:28 PM   #4
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

You can thank ROAR for that.Belted tires are illegal.I think it's because they would last too long.
DrOlds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 09:33 PM   #5
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrOlds
You can thank ROAR for that.Belted tires are illegal.I think it's because they would last too long.