R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2006, 12:34 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
ScottyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,208
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default XXX4 chassis mould

Does anyone know if the XXX4 chassis mould nas been changed at any time to accomodate the newer, larger cells? Hope it has, otherwise its out with the Dremel to get a better fit!

Scotty P.
ScottyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 12:54 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Drift_Buggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

No, not that I know of

Cheers
Drift_Buggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 05:27 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
LOSI BOY-MF2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 1,604
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Im running the xxx4 with the new IB4200 and I had to dremel it out.
LOSI BOY-MF2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 08:13 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,324
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default Cell Slots

I wish I had a version without slots -- for using LiPos. Does anyone else use LiPos in the xxx4? I need to mill down all the tabs to get a rectangulr pack to sit nice, then the slots aren't too usefull except if you want to run strapping tape maybe.
BobWoodhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 09:15 AM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I've been looking for a good way to deal with this problem too. Can't say that I'd really want to buy a new chassis just to get a better fit.

I currently have my 4200's installed as a saddle pack and that seems to work OK in the stock chassis without any grinding. I'd definitely prefer to have all 6 side-by-side, but it looks like a lot of work to get there.
Attached Thumbnails
XXX4 chassis mould-4200s.jpg  
paulsrvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 09:27 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

It is the same chassis. You shouldn't have any issues.
__________________
Our government is a #$%$ joke, from the head jester on down
RIP Mike M
BuggyKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 10:46 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
SlobbaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 423
Default

The GP3300's are the "last" cells we used I think hat fit into the XXX-4 OK, the 4200's for sure, then I'm prety sure the 3600/3800 IB's you also had to dremel the chassis to allow 6 cells one after on another to fit into the car.
__________________
Hot Bodies, HPI, Novak Electronics, JR Propo, Lunsford, Skipgear.com, Planet R/C, Vinyl Graphics Unlimited, JConcepts, B-Mods Racing, CRCRC, King's R/C Raceway, Avid R/C, GMK Supply, & Pacific Coast Hobbies.
SlobbaTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 09:20 PM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 27
Default

For the Lipos just turn the strap over and grind off the little tab. For the 4200 / 4300 's you have two options that I know of. Dremel the battery strap or use the plastic strap rather than the graphite one. I use the plastic one and it has just enough flex to strap it over the pack and hold them in tight.
kzacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 11:19 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Platinum_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rowley MA
Posts: 1,844
Send a message via MSN to Platinum_Racing
Default

Looks like you're gonna be hitting the Dremel pretty soon then.
Platinum_Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 02:17 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 3,470
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Are the 4200's both longer and wider than 3300's ?
K.Copeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 10:31 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
SlobbaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 423
Default

The length (if they are longer) doesn't really matter on the xxx-4, but it's cell radius does. The cells are just a little bigger, so if you had a 2 cell pack they'd fit fine where a 6 cell pack doesn't as that "little" difference in cell radium accumulates into a "healthy" sized difference by the time you get the cell #6 slot on the car. So you will be dremeling more and more as you move on to the next chassis slot and may not need to dremel any if much at all on the first 2-4 slots.
__________________
Hot Bodies, HPI, Novak Electronics, JR Propo, Lunsford, Skipgear.com, Planet R/C, Vinyl Graphics Unlimited, JConcepts, B-Mods Racing, CRCRC, King's R/C Raceway, Avid R/C, GMK Supply, & Pacific Coast Hobbies.
SlobbaTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 01:50 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
RussB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 736
Send a message via MSN to RussB
Default

i've run IB3600's and 3800's in my xxx4 with no problems.
RussB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cutting the body from the mould for FT B4 - HELP !!! simba Electric Off-Road 8 09-12-2007 09:50 PM
cutting the body from the mould - HELP !!! simba Australian Racing 7 09-11-2007 11:54 PM
xxx4 chassis. maxxman101 Electric Off-Road 2 11-30-2006 03:44 AM
WTB XXX4 MAIN CHASSIS BIG DADDY8 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 10-16-2006 03:14 PM
wtb new or lightly used XXX4 chassis tinbndr R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-20-2006 07:08 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net