R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2006, 02:43 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Slide Carb For RC10GT2?

I have a Novarossi RS12S2TR that i would like to put in a GT2. The engine has a slide carb, will the truck accept it? Thanks guys
Chad22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 04:42 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Hey Chad,

It will fit no worries dude. Myself have a Mugen X12 motor which is a novarossi based motor with just mugen labelled on the cooling head. It will fit but just, you may have to grind some of the blue aluminium brace away for the slide carb to work fully as mine touched a little on installation.

Goodluck,

JK
__________________
" It takes a lot of things to go right, but only one thing to go wrong to lose a race "
HEI | NBHC.com | Model Engines | World Hobbies
Jarred King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 02:02 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey Jarred

Thanks for the reply mate. Is there any chance of posting some pictures of what you've done? my main concern is the linkage set-up, did this incurr any problems for you? Thanks again
Chad22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 03:47 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Hey Dude,

Umm with the pics i may be able to get one for you today.
Ill have to see. A bit busy.

But basically we didnt use the GT2 Servo horn they give you.
We used a servo horn we had lying around. But trust me it fits, You may have to just undo the carb and twist it around a bit or something.

Goodluck.

JK
__________________
" It takes a lot of things to go right, but only one thing to go wrong to lose a race "
HEI | NBHC.com | Model Engines | World Hobbies
Jarred King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 06:04 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks man i appreciate your help. Anytime you can get the pics up would be great. Thanks Jarreed
Chad22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 07:26 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 115
Smile

I've posted pic's on the New GT2 forum. I took pic's of the grinding of the brace and linkage.
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 11:07 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Already done for ya Chad ^^^

JK
__________________
" It takes a lot of things to go right, but only one thing to go wrong to lose a race "
HEI | NBHC.com | Model Engines | World Hobbies
Jarred King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 01:51 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks mgreen and jarred, i had a look at the pictures. i have an old o.s. engine at home, would the carb from that be compadible with the nova and how would the nova run with an o.s. carb? thanks guys for all your help, much appreciated!!
Chad22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 05:58 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 115
Default

I know that the OS .12TZ has a clear sleeve over the carb shaft which makes the carb hole, for the engine, bigger. I'm not sure about the older OS motors.

Here are some more pictures of the slide carb hooked up.
Attached Thumbnails
Slide Carb For RC10GT2?-rc10gt2slidecarbsetup1.jpg   Slide Carb For RC10GT2?-rc10gt2slidecarbsetup2.jpg   Slide Carb For RC10GT2?-rc10gt2slidecarbsetup3.jpg  
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 03:36 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks mgreen, awesome pics mate. All the help you guys are giving is much appreciated.
Mgreen, how is the linkage setup with the slide, is it smooth and hassle free? im not sure wether or not i should change the carb from my nova to a rotary, or just run a similar setup as to the pictures. What do you guys think?
Chad22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 08:36 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 115
Thumbs up

Smooth and hassle free is the best way to decribe it. Also better throttle control.
mgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Rotary Carb to Slide Carb? hrnts69 Nitro Off-Road 1 07-18-2008 12:29 PM
WTB 11L ROTARY CARB FOR .18TZ, HAVE NEW SLIDE CARB TO TRADE? SHAGGS R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 12-01-2006 03:34 PM
I Need A Os Tr-12 Slide Carb The_Dude R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 11-16-2004 09:15 AM
os .12 CV-R - 10c slide carb like new sickrcracer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-31-2004 01:48 PM
New RB X12 slide carb $130.00 Lil Pinto R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-21-2003 03:53 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:39 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net