R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-29-2006, 06:06 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
YokomoMR4BX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 456
Trader Rating: 3 (71%+)
Default Motor Break-In?

I just bought a Trinity Cobalt 8T motor and was told that I should break in the motor before I use it on the track. I have a Duratrax ICE Charger/ Discharger/ Motor Break-In. Could I use the Motor Break-In on the ICE?
What should I set the volts at?
I am using the Trinity IB4200 saddle packs.
How long should I run the motor for?
Thanks
I really could use some addvice for electric off road racing.
YokomoMR4BX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 06:23 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
RAZ49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 42
Default

The voltage should be between 1.2 and 2.4 and about 15 - 20 min. At least that's what I was taught and it's always worked fine.
RAZ49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 07:25 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

no no no... you need to break it in at 1.0v for about 10 min. dont run it at 2.4v your crazy.
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 07:50 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
YokomoMR4BX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 456
Trader Rating: 3 (71%+)
Default

DAMN, I already did! What should I do now?
YokomoMR4BX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 10:28 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
norman2cycle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mass
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Now that I read this thread I am super confused . I was told by a veteran racer at my track to set the voltage at 4.0volts and run it for 3 minutes. I haven't had any problems though but now I have no idea what is the proper way to break-in an electric engine Please can more people add more info to this topic. thanks
norman2cycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2006, 11:51 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 292
Default

I just got into electrics also after years in nitro. The new cobalt 27 motor I got for stock truck said 2.0V for 8 minutes. Talked to a veteran electric guy though and he said 3-5 minutes would be fine. Just trying to seat the brushes.

He also read an article from some electric pro who didn't think they needed to be broken in at all, install them and throw it on the track.
golfinglenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 07:14 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
RAZ49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff jenkins
no no no... you need to break it in at 1.0v for about 10 min. dont run it at 2.4v your crazy.








What? Do you ever read the directions that comes with motors? Every motor I have ever bought that needs to be broke in says to connect it to 1-2 AA batteries and let it run till they go dead, that's 1.2 -2.4 volts and takes about 15-20- min. Read the directions next time before you call some one crazy.

Last edited by RAZ49; 11-30-2006 at 08:36 AM.
RAZ49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 04:50 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: C-bus Ohio
Posts: 81
Default

I run the motor for 30 seconds @ 2v. Then i put on a fan and let it go for about 500 seconds. Clean it out and check the brushes to make sure they have seated the whole way across the brush face. Lube the bush/bearing and let er' eat
__________________
Crcrc Track Director
TL Mf2
Duratrax Raze
FowLer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2006, 05:27 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
That0neguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FowLer
I run the motor for 30 seconds @ 2v. Then i put on a fan and let it go for about 500 seconds. Clean it out and check the brushes to make sure they have seated the whole way across the brush face. Lube the bush/bearing and let er' eat
QFT
__________________
Hello.0
That0neguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motor lathe/motor break in andy_b22 Electric On-Road 4 05-17-2006 06:29 PM
Do I need to break in my new motor? Captjono Electric On-Road 6 03-03-2005 06:25 AM
Motor Break DOES Higher AMP draw = better motor? Travis S Electric On-Road 13 02-12-2005 03:02 AM
New Motor Break-in!!! hicheef Nitro On-Road 10 05-05-2003 11:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net