R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-18-2006, 11:56 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default Need help with radio gear

I have a new T4 and have everything I need now. The radio equipment is in and ready. I have the new Spektrum DX2.0 radio, Airtronics BL-Racer esc., and a p2k2 motor. I have tried everything and can't get the thing to work. I have a fully charged pack in the truck, TX batteries are new and can't figure it out. I binded the radio, programmed the esc. and all I get is steering. The steering works great but I just can't get the forward/reverse to do anything. Is there a compatability issue with the esc. and the spektrum reciever? The LED on the esc works as it's supposed to. It goes off at full throttle and off at neutral. That to me sounds like the esc is reading the reciever ok. Seems to me like an esc problem. Any suggestions.

Also did I void the warranty on the esc when I cut off the plugs and put deans plugs on? I have a feeling I did.
calyakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 01:20 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Rysuleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

A couple things to try:
Check the motor leads with a voltmeter when you throttle up to see if anything it getting that far.
Check that the brushes aren't hung up and are making good contact with the comm. Remove the springs, pull out the brushes and then put it back together.
Also make sure you are not in the setup mode of the esc. That would exhibit the same things you describe like steering but no throttle.
Rysuleod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 02:25 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

After posting this question I thought of the same thing. I put a meter on the motor like you suggested and gave it some throttle and got a big fat 0.00V. I started testing more things and concluded something strange. I have deans plugs on the motor connection and was checking continuity on each section of wire and found out that I wasn't getting anything pas the deans plug. The wierd thing is is that everthing is intact and soldered. I can't figure out what the problem was. Anyways I resoldered new leads onto the plug and to the motor and it fired right up.

This is my first time with a "stock" motor setup. I made sure there's no binding and the gear mesh is good but the motor seams to get hot pretty fast just holding it in the air and letting the tires spin. Is this normal? I also noticed a lot of arcing on the brushes at first but seemed to mostly go away after a few seconds of holding the throttle at about 1/4. Everything works OK but I just want to make sure
calyakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 09:24 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
xxx-ntad2 racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

depends how long it takes for the motor to get warm.

these are the things that might make it warm fast:
geared too high.
powerful battery.
bad motor...


sorry i can't really help ya on the question. haven't monkey'd around with electric stuff since 02'.
__________________
Hobby Pro USA
www.Hobbyprousa.com
xxx-ntad2 racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 10:46 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

Well, even though I got the pro version of the p2k2 I went ahead and ran it at 5V for a few minutes and it seamed much better. No arcing and after it cooled off I ran it again and this time it didn't get near as hot. I think it just needed a little extra breaking in.

Also there is a problem with what I would percieve to be the esc. At about 3/4 throttle, the motor cuts out for a split second and then continues to increase RPM. What would cause this? Everything is new.
calyakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2006, 11:55 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Boony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: australia,perth
Posts: 173
Default

try some capcitors on the motor.this will eliminate almost all glitching
__________________
ツfull time student-no more racing for me till 2010ツ
Boony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 10:49 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

It's not glitching. It's just cutting out at one certain point of the throttle. definately not glitching.
calyakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 05:46 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Rysuleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 578
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Doesn't the P2K2 have capacitors on it already? Stupid Trinity doesn't have it listed on their site anymore so I can't check for sure.

The brushes will arc more when they are brand new because they are not fully seated with the comm. Breaking them in at low voltage is one way to get them seated properly. Try this site for stock motor tuning advice: http://www.motortuningsecrets.com/tunestockmotor.html

The only thing I can think of that you can do is to go through the ESC setup again to ensure it's right. If it's still doing it you can have a hobby shop take a look to see if the ESC works with another radio attached.
Rysuleod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2006, 09:24 PM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

Yeah the p2k2 already has capacitors built in. Someone on another forum said that it sounded like one of the FET's was bad. Either way, I think I'm out of luck because after cutting the wires and installing deans plugs, the warranty was pretty much thrown out the window. To bad because it's brand new.
calyakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 08:37 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 27
Default

Figured it out. Yep, I'm a moron. Actually I noticed that I soldered the deans plug on the motor connection backwards. I thought if I set the Tx to servo reverse on the throttle it would fix it. Duh, it's not a servo. I switched the wires and bingo, whataya know.
calyakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ho Boa Radio Gear rikardo Rookie Zone 1 02-28-2008 11:11 PM
Pinions, Radio Gear and Battery Gear d4_racer Australia For Sale/Trade 9 09-18-2007 02:07 AM
What is the best radio gear to buy? george_georgoul Nitro On-Road 10 09-06-2007 07:24 PM
Radio Gear Namheul Australia Wanted to Buy 10 05-31-2007 02:30 AM
New Radio Gear jonto100 Nitro On-Road 1 05-30-2005 05:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net