Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
is spektrum all that.....really? >

is spektrum all that.....really?

is spektrum all that.....really?

Reply

Old 11-12-2006, 06:59 PM
  #16  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,066
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I still haven't gone to the Spectrum system, and as someone else said, I didn't see the need. So many local racers have gone that way that I don't have much of an issue of waiting for a practice clip, etc... I just never have freqeuncy conflicts for my heats, etc. anymore, so what the heck...

HOWEVER -- Today, during my third heat race of 19t buggy, a novice racer turned on his radio in the pits, and the result was one front corner of my buggy was ripped off when it went into a pipe! Of course, there was the usual "oops sorry" comment, but that didn't change my broken buggy or the DNF in a qualifier I badly needed to get a good run in...

I may not Need a Spectrum, but it would have saved a bag of parts and my heat race...
tfrahm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 07:15 PM
  #17  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,329
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

AND A BAG OF CHIPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



No antenna, able to turn radio on in the pits, no clips, built in failsafe.. I love mine for sure and rate it my best usable hopup.
jbrow1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 10:04 PM
  #18  
Tech Initiate
 
RAZ49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 42
Talking

Another reason I love the spektrum is.. The antenna is short so no more long ugly tube poking out of the car body.
RAZ49 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 05:17 AM
  #19  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,839
Default

spektrum is great. We are having a huge sale on all spektrum inventory.
Homer Allman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 05:23 AM
  #20  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
rdeppen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: West Palm Bch FL
Posts: 1,028
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

best RC invention EVER. I love mine. I have one of the first gen systems and have never had a glitch or issue with it. Crystal's are so 1999. LOL
rdeppen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 07:55 AM
  #21  
Tech Adept
 
mattyk6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Federal Way, Wa
Posts: 170
Default

Originally Posted by jjkahler
The two best R/C products I ever bought in the last 13 years:

Airtonics M8
Spektrum
PT
That's actually three.

I love my spektrum.
mattyk6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 10:20 AM
  #22  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

Joe it was going into failsafe but it would do that a lot, even with a freshly charged reciever pack and brand new cells in the radio. I was still running the orignal pack that came with the radio and thought that might be the problem. It still happened with the radio showing 14.0! I am not giving up on the sytem completely just will probably only run it indoors where range is not a problem. I want to get the futaba sytem actually but that is another thread.
tcmerf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 01:46 AM
  #23  
Tech Adept
 
Boony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: australia,perth
Posts: 173
Default

since the real intro for spektrum over here.out of the 60 real keen drivers that race at bthe big events,over half have spektrum so freq* clashes havent been a problem.i was going to go to spektrum up till about 3 weeks ago when a cple of guys down the track mentioned the amount of ppl on spektrum.theres that many available frequencies now,i just dont see the need.and the money can now be spent on something better.

just my 2 cents.......

Boony
Boony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 06:06 AM
  #24  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Homer Allman
spektrum is great. We are having a huge sale on all spektrum inventory.

-Shookie <><
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 06:34 AM
  #25  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
CCristo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,446
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Homer Allman
spektrum is great. We are having a huge sale on all spektrum inventory.
Who is "we"? Gotta link?
CCristo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 06:43 AM
  #26  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

click the link in his signature..

-Shookie <><
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 07:00 AM
  #27  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
CCristo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,446
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

I have signatures disables...... I got it. http://www.bmainhobbies.com/
CCristo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 07:40 AM
  #28  
Tech Initiate
 
RAZ49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eureka, Ca.
Posts: 42
Default

i just dont see the need.and the money can now be spent on something better.
just my 2 cents.......
Boony[/QUOTE]







That is true for a lot of people, they don't really 'need' it but later on if they start adding aluminum parts or a bl motor then they suddenly do 'need' it so my feeling is get it and then you don't have to worry about it.
RAZ49 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 10:13 PM
  #29  
Tag
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arcadia CA
Posts: 1,597
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

yeh, i see what you re saying, i have the first batch spektrum and it did shut on me a few times ( luckily all happened during pratice sessions), it was quite frastrating now, i am debating if i should go back to my good old crystal setup or bite the bullet and buy the PRO version..anyway, yeh dont have to wait for open channel is a big plus but again i have to question the reliability

Originally Posted by tcmerf
I actually went back to my regular module for my 3pk. Granted I had a first generation Spectum but i would ose signal at lest 10 times per tank in my truggy. The driver stand is built on top of a storage containerand i when i would walk behind it to go up the ramp i had nothing! Just look at the mains sheets the next time you go to a big race. The higher the main the fewer spectrums! BY the way since i went back no problems and i dont have to wait for practice either, there are always a lot of frequencies open!
Tag is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service