Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
glitchin and im sick of it >

glitchin and im sick of it

glitchin and im sick of it

Old 11-09-2006, 05:42 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
teleb4pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 43
Angry glitchin and im sick of it

hey fellas
i bought a matt francis 2 thinking it was
an amazing truck and i know it is,
i bbought a 13 t cobalt original motor
then a lrp ipc super sport digital for 12 turns and up
my first radio system glitched like crazy
but now i have a 2pl and its better but
i dont get good acceleration , i do but not alot of power
also seems alittle bumpy while accelrating
also sometimes it just stops running, the servo goes
but no motor , itll light up saying its working but
its not so i have to give it a kick to get it going
it works when i have the motor wires closer but it still
does it then wen i leave my battery pack connected but
the vehicle is off the motor lights up
please help?
teleb4pa is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 05:52 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (80)
 
LOSI BOY-MF2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 1,604
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you have a brush hanging up on the motor. Not sure about the light coming on when its off though. But its allways a good Idea to unplug the battery when you're done, I dont ever leave mine plugged in.
LOSI BOY-MF2 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 05:58 PM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
teleb4pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 43
Default

yeah figuered that cause everytime i push it in it goes off
should i just tightin the brush hood?
teleb4pa is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:10 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
SpeedBump57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 660
Default

Brushed motors need lots of TLC! Espically a mod (13t). Every two or three runs you need to take out the motor and clean with motor spray or break cleaner real good. Then on top of that about ever 6 to 8 runs if you are lucky you need to take the arm out and cut the comm and change the brushes. You also need to make sure you are not over geared because then you are going to run hot and make matters worse.
SpeedBump57 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:27 PM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
teleb4pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 43
Default

i know that i do all of that
i just never had a hung brush lol
teleb4pa is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:30 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (80)
 
LOSI BOY-MF2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 1,604
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

If the brush hood isnt dirty It might of gotten bent a little. I'd pull the motor out and pull the springs off and see if the brushes move in ond out freely or not then go from there.
LOSI BOY-MF2 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:39 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
sport10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 1,013
Default

Do you have the caps on the motor? Do they look damaged?
sport10 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 08:36 PM
  #8  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
teleb4pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 43
Default

yep brand new,
on the cobalt original the caps are pre installed
and the diodes on too
teleb4pa is offline  
Old 11-10-2006, 10:09 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Slap another motor in there to see if its the motor, or some other part of your system.
Iceracer is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 07:30 AM
  #10  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,378
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Is your battery insulated from the chassis in some way? If I remember the MF2 has a graphite chassis and can be conductive, may be causing some glitching at the receiver level because of it.

You can start remedying it like this as I usually start this way:

1. make sure the receiver wire is wrapped with something to insulate it from the chassis. Run it direct to the attenna tube if possible and not up and under in the chassis. I usually have mine about 1 inch up on the attenna tube.

2. run electrical tape along the sides of the chassis where the battery would sit.

3. Put a fresh cut on the comm of the motor and make sure the brushes still reach the comm and have tension on them from the springs. If your brushes as too short, you could be getting intermittent running from this.

4. Clean the brush hoods and make sure the brushes move freely.

Give it a test then.

If you still glitch, put 1 extra external cap on the motor and see if that happens, could be the internal ones are not working correctly.

If that doesnt' still work, see if you can swap out your crystals if that could be the problem.
Cain is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 08:47 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

how many runs are on the motor?
when i have a glitching problem with the newer motors i still add external caps.
but if you have to kick it to get it going i dont think its a glitching problem. either a bad receiver or esc. try a different motor. you may need new brushes. pull them out and make sure that the brush isnt chipped or burnt.
baih is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 11:19 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
 
streetracer745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,291
Default

if its glitching, then its most likely some kind of interferince from the motor. if its studdering and all that, then its bad reciever, esc or low battery. check the esc on a different motor. and check the reciever in different truck. if you dont find the problem then, then start messing with the motor
streetracer745 is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 12:07 PM
  #13  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
teleb4pa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 43
Default

guys the brush just keeps gettinghung i cutt my comm and
put new brushes in there but the onejust keeps getting hung,
i think im gonna get new brush hoods, does that sound good?
teleb4pa is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 03:42 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (80)
 
LOSI BOY-MF2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 1,604
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Thats what I'd do. Sounds like it got bent some how, thats not uncommon.
LOSI BOY-MF2 is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 04:19 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

you can file the brush with a fine file. you can also loosen the brush hood to see it was not seated properly.
baih is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.