R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 11-08-2006, 06:05 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default HELP WITH CLASS PROJECT PLEASE!

Hey guys...

I am in an engineering class- and I have no experience in this field.. so I thought I would seek it from the best :-)

I have to make a car of some sort than is under 10" in diameter... It must go up 20% grade... must go through a gravel track... and go through 2" of water.
We get 500 dollars.

I was going to ask for advice on parts, design, etc.
we have to build the remote.

We are going for a design currently that resembles a dune buggy.
Any suggestion on cheap parts/good design ideas?
Water is the biggest problem really. and it really isnt even that. haha.

Thanks for any help guys.

-Anton

Feel free to IM me on AIM, Destroythenseek
Destroythenseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 06:21 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to WheelNut

I would probably base it on something like the Team Associated RC10T4, or at least look to it for ideas. Check out www.rc10.com for some design ideas. Do you have to build ALL the parts for the chassis/powertrain? Or just the radio? Need some more details.
Old 11-08-2006, 06:36 PM   #3
Tech Rookie

help already!

:-)

well, we're allowed to buy the engines, servos, etc. within the car itself we need to do all the wiring.

oh! another part is... we have to put sensors on it...
Our group has decided to go ... audio/video (babymonitor) smoke (smoke alarm) motion sensor and light sensor.

I'm making a 3d render of it, ill post the picture of the "basic sketch" tonight.
Destroythenseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 07:35 PM   #4
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)