R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 10-30-2006, 08:55 AM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (71%+)
Default LRP ESC IPC V7.1 vs Quantum Competition 2 and 3

I'm just getting into racing and I can't figure out which ESC to get. The only thing that I could figure out was that the IPC V7.1 is the biggest vs the QC2 and QC3. What do I need to look for when it comes to ESC's? I would like to get a Top of the Line ESC, but the QC3 cost about $170 and the IPC cost about $130 and the QC2 about $170. The IPC has no motor limit, the QC2 motor limit is over 5 turns, and the QC3 is the same way as the QC2. If it was up to me I would get the IPC V7.1 but I dont want to get the wrong thing. Let me know what you think.
YokomoMR4BX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 10:00 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Get the Quantum Competition 3! This is the newest of the speed controls. The IPC 7.1 is a old controller that predates the QC2 and the QC3. The QC3 replaced the QC2 and is LRP's flagship racing esc for brushed motors.
Associated TC7.1
Durango DESC410V2 Pro
sport10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 10:12 AM   #3
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara

SIZE and PRICE.........ENTRY level vs PRO level..............however, they are all great ESC (I used the V7.1 for outdoor mod racing and used the smaller better QC2 for indoor carpet racing....12th scale)
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 02:26 PM   #4
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solara
SIZE and PRICE.........ENTRY level vs PRO level..............however, they are all great ESC (I used the V7.1 for outdoor mod racing and used the smaller better QC2 for indoor carpet racing....12th scale)