Wiki Posts
Search

4wd competitive

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2006, 04:06 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default 4wd competitive

I race mod truck at a track with 30 consistent racers and on average I am a top 5 driver with my T4. Many of the other racers also race 4wd with ALL of them running BJ4's. Since I can't afford the BJ4 and do not have access to seeing any other 4wd run, does anyone out there compete at a high level (C-E Mod Nat level drivers) with a Losi XX4 WE against BJ4's?

BTW, my track is hard pack clay with medium to low traction and a good amount of smaller holes and bumps.

THANKS
Old 09-29-2006, 05:16 AM
Tech Fanatic

Of, course the XX4 WE will be competitive with the BJ4!! It made the mains at the Nats and Worlds also. However with the description of your track, maybe a XXX4 G+ may be the better choice.
Old 09-29-2006, 07:26 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

All of the current 4wds are good. At my track we have Bj4's, Kyosho, and the xx4 and xxx4 Losi's. Seriously you'll hear this all the time. Get whatever your local track can support. If you want to be different get something different. But don't expect to get any setup help at the track and you'll probably have to stock up on parts.

If you don't have the money for a new Bj4, look for a used one.
Old 09-29-2006, 08:20 AM
Tech Master

If you can find a good deal on an xx-4 (any edition) you could later upgrade it to an x-5 which is a even match for the BJ4 WE. The kit to upgrade it cost 229.00. This car combines the best of both the XX-4 and XXX-4. Check it out!

www.4wdrc.com
Old 09-29-2006, 08:57 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)

I've seen them all win at my track this summer. We had xxx4, xx4, bj4, bj4we, academy, predator. They were all fast cars and ya they all broke now and then too. There's a guy around here that makes delrin front arms for the xx4, if you get one send me a pm and I'll give you his email if ya want.
Old 09-29-2006, 12:28 PM
Tech Master