R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2006, 03:21 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Va
Posts: 55
Default Servos with Different Receivers

Im looking at getting a Ko Propo Helios and was wondering what servos work with their recievers. I know Airtronics and Jr are the same and Futaba and Hitec are wired the same but where does that leave Ko? I just want more options than one brand of servos.
HoLlOwPoInT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 04:31 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fairfield, Ca.
Posts: 898
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to tradhunt Send a message via Yahoo to tradhunt Send a message via Skype™ to tradhunt
Default

All servos will work with youre system... their all wired the same. you might have to trim the little tab off some of the servo plugs to fit in the Ko receiver...but other then that they will all work... Hope that helps you out some.
tradhunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 04:54 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

I just picked up a Helios and mine does not like analog servos . I thought my servo was bad in two of my cars when I bought the new radio . I switched to digital servos and the problems went away . Not sure if they all are like that or something is wrong with my radio .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 06:28 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

briguy:

I don't know why your Helios would have trouble with analog servos as your Helios is analog too. Are you running the spektrum with it? Maybe its in "Da Slow Mode" as the Spektrum is called.

The only true digital radio system in 2.4 is the Nomadio Sensor and soon to be available React! I use hitec digital servos with my Sensor and the speed and torque is fabulous compared to analog.

7.5man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 06:34 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
SupermaxxRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,532
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7.5man
briguy:

I don't know why your Helios would have trouble with analog servos as your Helios is analog too. Are you running the spektrum with it? Maybe its in "Da Slow Mode" as the Spektrum is called.

The only true digital radio system in 2.4 is the Nomadio Sensor and soon to be available React! I use hitec digital servos with my Sensor and the speed and torque is fabulous compared to analog.

+1

Anyword yet Don? Email me if soo
__________________
Proudly Sponsored by:

-HB Racing-Pro Line Racing-OS Speed-MKS Servos-VP Race Fuel-Hobbywing-SANWA-J&T Bearings-Tony Screws
SupermaxxRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 08:00 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

I do run a Spektrum module but I also have a DX3 and the servos are fine with the DX3 . I even tried a different module , servos and recievers . I used the module in my old EX-1 and was fine . Everything narrows down to the radio .I emailed KO about it and hopefully they will have some input .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 08:10 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central Va
Posts: 55
Default

The Helios has that super advanced HRS or something along with advanced HRS. Could you be using one of those with analog servos be your problem?
HoLlOwPoInT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 08:37 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

7.5man , the Helios is a digital radio . I have tried the Sensor and I personally don`t like the feel or the looks of it . I use digital servos in my 1/8 bugs and have plenty of response time , so I`m fine with "Da Slow mode" .


HoLlOwPoInT , thanks for reminding me of that switch that is behind the module base to switch from high to normal . That made the difference , I am getting ready to start racing electric and noticed this problem the other day . Problem solved , the radio came in high mode . Thanks again for the reminder .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 10:36 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Briguy:

Not trying to create a fuss here but the Helios is NOT a digital radio. It is analog. The screen may be digital for readings but thats it. The insides are FM mode.

7.5man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 06:36 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7.5man
Briguy:

Not trying to create a fuss here but the Helios is NOT a digital radio. It is analog. The screen may be digital for readings but thats it. The insides are FM mode.

So your right and KO Propo is wrong ? I think I will believe a reputable company over some person on a forum .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 03:32 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Hey Briguy:

Tell ya what, since you want to believe KO's word try this. Send an email to KO to send you proof the Helios is 100% digital. When (if) you get a response, copy and paste their response on this thread please. If you show me the proof then I'll gladly retract my statements.

I wonder if KO will even respond?

That sounds pretty fair to me. I'll be waiting!

And BTW, I used to use a Ko Mars and it was a good radio in its day, but it was nothing like the Nomadio for ease of settings, speed, comfort, and battery life.

Have a good day!

7.5man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 03:52 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

The Helios is digital . I suppose in your mind Nomadio is the only radio that is digital . Believe what you want . Take a look at a Helios manual and you will see . Obviously you never had a Helios so there might be a slight chance you don`t even know what your talking about . Again , I don`t really care what you think , but for others that are thinking of getting one , I don`t want your false statements pushing them away from a great product .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 09:15 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Briguy:

You are pretty funny fellow. Heres something for you to chew on:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=KOP80066


If you look closely at the Helios it says FM at the top of the page. It can be switched to HRS which increases speed with a digital servo. The FM mode by trait is analog.

Even though when you use your Spektrum 2.4 Gig module and reciever which is digital by itself the analog Helios transmitter only transmitts in a analog FM signal to the Spektrum digital module.This is not digital at all....

Hence you see racers with the Nomadio system call the Spektrum system "Da Slow Mode" because it is not a 100% digital radio and 100% digital module/reciever working as one unit.

Now whether you like the Sensor or not I could care less but I don't like being told that I spread false info. If I did not know for sure I would have never said that the Helios is not a digital radio but just a FM radio. I have been in this hobby for many, many years and misleading people is not my bag.

I'll take your apology now.....

thanks....
7.5man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 10:05 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

What mode does Spektrum work with?
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:08 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

K_King:

The Spektrum system is 2.4 Gig (similar to cordless phones etc), not the common 27 or 75 band AM and FM that has been used for years on surface models in North America. It does not use crystals but searches and finds an open channel (about 70 are available) when switched on and a channel is found, then it is spoken for and cannot be used by any other Spektrum system. This stops frequency conflicts.

The common FM radios that can change modules to be converted to a Spektrum 2.4 (KO, 3PK, Hitec, Airtronics, JR) must then use a Spektrum module and reciever. The Spektrum module allows the FM transmitters to create a signal to it. It is a FM signal (analog) that is converted to the 2.4 Gig signal. But because the radio is FM (analog) the signal is not a true digital signal.

hope that helps some.....

7.5man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
receivers and servos al spina R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 04-13-2008 10:04 AM
Receivers, servos... Crashhole R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 02-17-2008 10:56 PM
many hi-end servos, receivers, and speedos billjacobs R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 04-06-2006 12:06 PM
FS: Two JR RS-300 synth receivers and two servos Trips R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 02-13-2006 09:47 AM
Servos and Receivers RJ1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 09-25-2005 06:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net