R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2006, 12:15 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
mach51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 4,278
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default LRP SPHERE OFFROAD QUESTION

Has anyone else ran the LRP SPhere Brushless system offroad but with a BRUSHED motor?

I just got my system 2 days ago. I ran stock truck tonight in my T4 with a 27 turn motor. Under the BRUSHED motor settings, the ESC has ALOT of drag brake when you let off the throttle. SO much, that going down the straightaway, If I let off it would spin out.

yes, it is programmed correctly.

Yes, the gear mesh is set correctly.

Yes, the drivetrain is free, rolls forever with pinion removed.

The only way I could combat this was to set the throttle trim up to where the wheels were moving when held off the ground.


anyone else experienced this?
mach51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 02:37 AM   #2
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mach51
Has anyone else ran the LRP Sphere Brushless system off road but with a BRUSHED motor?

I just got my system 2 days ago. I ran stock truck tonight in my T4 with a 27 turn motor. Under the BRUSHED motor settings, the ESC has ALOT of drag brake when you let off the throttle. SO much, that going down the straightaway, If I let off it would spin out.

yes, it is programmed correctly.

Yes, the gear mesh is set correctly.

Yes, the drivetrain is free, rolls forever with pinion removed.

The only way I could combat this was to set the throttle trim up to where the wheels were moving when held off the ground.


anyone else experienced this?

I`v run a brush motor with the Sphere a few races before.
I did`nt experience any problems with the drag brake however...

Maybe your running a stock motor ?
Stock brush motor`s develope a lot drag brake naturally.
perhapes this is what your experiencing ?


If so...
Suggest a larger pinion or spur gear, so the car can roll more off power...
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:35 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: here
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mach51
Has anyone else ran the LRP SPhere Brushless system offroad but with a BRUSHED motor?

I just got my system 2 days ago. I ran stock truck tonight in my T4 with a 27 turn motor. Under the BRUSHED motor settings, the ESC has ALOT of drag brake when you let off the throttle. SO much, that going down the straightaway, If I let off it would spin out.

yes, it is programmed correctly.

Yes, the gear mesh is set correctly.

Yes, the drivetrain is free, rolls forever with pinion removed.

The only way I could combat this was to set the throttle trim up to where the wheels were moving when held off the ground.


anyone else experienced this?

reduce the automatic break setting to zero. default is for brushless motor's.
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 06:22 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
mach51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 4,278
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

yes its stock 27T Monster Stock Pro, also tried a P2k2 Pro just to make sure it wasnt the motor doing it, played with multiple gears


all brake settings are fixed for brushes motors, there is no adjustment for brushed motors.
mach51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 10:02 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Johnny_S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Schmocation
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to Johnny_S.
Default

Is There an EPA brake adjustment/Drag braking adjustment on your radio? Not sure if that would help either way.

If you can't figure out anything to do, the best thing would to be practice with it on drag brake, don't go completely off the throttle, instead, go with barely anything on, or ease the car off full punch (like you would do when ending on a sweeper).
Johnny_S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 01:21 PM   #6
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mach51
yes its stock 27T Monster Stock Pro, also tried a P2k2 Pro just to make sure it wasnt the motor doing it, played with multiple gears

Your going to just have to practice more with the stock motor , its the resaon you have so much drag brake.
Its not the ESC ..
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 02:34 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Losi Chaser's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elma,WA
Posts: 1,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mach51
yes its stock 27T Monster Stock Pro, also tried a P2k2 Pro just to make sure it wasnt the motor doing it, played with multiple gears


all brake settings are fixed for brushes motors, there is no adjustment for brushed motors.
Try adjusting your throttle trim so that your truck rolls a little forward at nuetral that should help some.
Losi Chaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 08:03 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
mach51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 4,278
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild Cherry
Your going to just have to practice more with the stock motor , its the resaon you have so much drag brake.
Its not the ESC ..

thanks for the advice, but Im not new to this hobby. Ive raced stock truck/buggy/touring car MANY times, its NOT the motor. Its the speed control design.

There is no "practicing" and getting used to it, when you let off it locks up the breaks and spins the truck.

As stated, the only way around it is setting the trim forward so the wheels are lurching forward. It worked ok this way, just seemed kinda cheesy to have to do it this way.

The GTB I had you could program the drag brake out completely. Its "fixed" on the LRP. I guess instead of taking the time to engineer it otherwise they just expected you to have to set you trim to account for it...
mach51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 09:41 PM   #9
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Well , Like I said the drag brake on my Sphere perform`s fantastic in brush mode .

So maybe there could be a problem somewhere else? Perhaps in the programing of the radio or ESC ?

Make sure all your radio function`s like Max Throttle & Brake Epa are correct before programing ...
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 12:08 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
kdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 618
Default

With a brushed motor on the [edit] SPHERE COMP., you still have the drag brake setting. It is the 4th setting (3rd is initial brake). Set your speedo to 2-4-0-0 and you will have the least possible brake. I would run that for stock.
__________________
Chief Engineer, Schelle Racing Innovations, SchelleRacing.com - Team Associated - Reedy - JConcepts - Sanwa - MIP - StickyKicksRC - UpGradeRC - Darkside Designs

Last edited by kdub; 09-25-2006 at 12:23 PM.
kdub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 12:15 PM   #11
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdub
With a brushed motor on the Sphere, you still have the drag brake setting. It is the 4th setting (3rd is initial brake). Set your speedo to 2-4-0-0 and you will have the least possible brake. I would run that for stock.
Kdub

With the standard Sphere you can`t adjust the drag brake ( Auto Brake) when in the brush mode...
You can adjust auto brake in brushless mode only...

Only with the Competition Sphere...
The ability to adjust the auto brake with a brush motor is possible...
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 12:28 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
mach51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 4,278
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

mode 3 is fixed at 1 for brushed

mode 4 is fixed at 0 for brushed
mach51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 01:20 PM   #13
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Which stock motor and give the pinion & spur you are using please..?
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 04:44 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
mach51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 4,278
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default



I tried it with a Monster Stock Pro, CO27, P2k2 Pro.
pinions from 16-20
stock spur



it does it everytime, like I said, I am not NEW, Ive probably bought and sold at least 100 RC Cars in the past 3 years. Ive owned every piece of high end equipment made. If this was an RTR Rustler or something I would doubt myself. But considering it is sitting on the shelf next to a hopped up Kyosho SP2, hopped up FTE Jammin X1CR buggy, Race only MGT, Racer LST2 and a Factory Team B4, Im going to give myself some benefit of doubt - But just this time.

I appreciate the efforts to help, my question was has anyone else experienced this problem. I am guessing that not many people are actually using the sphere to run brushed motors.
mach51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 05:04 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
WheelNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Edmonton, Ab
Posts: 3,210
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to WheelNut
Default

Yeah well the whole point of the sphere is to run brushless motors, but you should have know that. Why don't you just get a hold of LRP, I'm sure they will be able to help you a lot more than us, who unfortunately for you aren't technians working for LRP.
__________________
•Brad Comis
WheelNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP Sphere Competition Question JSJ Racing Radio and Electronics 2 05-09-2008 03:39 PM
LRP Sphere 07 question loopedout Electric On-Road 39 12-20-2007 11:25 PM
Offroad Nitro cleaning question... eziduzit Electric Off-Road 5 05-15-2007 10:25 AM
sphere/gtb question PAPAMAC Electric Off-Road 4 07-16-2006 11:32 PM
New to offroad,I have a question?? fordman500 Electric Off-Road 4 12-23-2005 03:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:40 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net