R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2006, 05:14 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default Please help..Turbo 30 problem??? Am i dumb?

I have a Turbo 30 charger and 15 amp power supply(see other thread) it works fine and gets power...but when i go to charge my battery it shows its charging for 3 seconds and then says hook up battery. is my battery hooked up to the right place???? I have no idea. I soddered my pack together myself and its my first pack. From what i see i soddered it right, i have no idea why its doing this. Its my first competition charger and im begining to hate it. I took pics of how everything is hooked up so you can see if im doing something wrong. Please help...i cant even run my car to see if it runs because my batt wont charge

I hooked up a battery that is a stick pack that i bought and know it works and does the same thing.

I thought it was the power supply and so i tried my car battery and the same thing happens.











Please help...i would like to run it today
jamesbernatchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 05:21 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If I am not mistaken, you have the charger hooked up backwards. The side with the smaller wires go to the batteries you want to charge. The smaller wires are voltage wires for the batteries, mainly for discharge.
ddcarter3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 05:29 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

just tried that and i got the same thing...hook up battery

This is getting frustraiting
jamesbernatchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 05:45 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,318
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

edit... misread the post
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 05:52 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I dont think its the battery bar...i hooked the pack p to a duratrax prophet sport and it was charging at 2 amps(the most i could do on ac current)

I hooked up the pack to the turbo 30(like in the picture) except i also hooked up the thin wires to the coresponding polarity. I set discharge at 10 amps and hit start and from what i can tell.......it says its discharging and its been 225 seconds and its still going. Why the hell is it telling me to hook up the battery but it seems to discharge????? I tried hooking up the small wires and hitting start to charge but i get hook up battery still.

the manual says the leads on the left are for the power supply not the battery. but when i hook them to the power supply and turn it on...i get nothing. Anybody has this that can help?
jamesbernatchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 06:03 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

All right!!!!!! I think i figured it out! The lead to the left is the power supply lead. The fuse for that was blown......I hooked the power supply wires into that after replacing the fuse. The large wires on the right are for the charging and the small wires on teh right are for the voltage sensing i believe. I set it to charge at 6 amps....hit charge and................its been charging for about 2 minutes now!!! Hopefully its actually charging!!!


Ill let you know what happens....Thanks!

James
jamesbernatchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 02:01 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
That0neguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 551
Default



Looking good...
__________________
Hello.0
That0neguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 07:28 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
SpeedBump57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 660
Default

I would fix that solider joint on the middle battery on the left. It looks pretty weak.
SpeedBump57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 10:32 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedBump57
I would fix that solider joint on the middle battery on the left. It looks pretty weak.

I....hate....u!

Im just kidding! Yeah i plan on fixing that after work today. I peaked that pack last nite. Should i discharge it before i re sodder it or is it ok the way it is?

My esc is messed up so im not running till i get my brushless setup hopefully tomorrow, so ill have plenty of time to re sodder that and get my other pack setup. I need to make plugs for the charger too. I think ill do deans on the charger since thats ALL i am going to run.

I was actually quite happy with how the pack came out besides that one bar. The funny thing is the battery bar you say to redo is the first battery bar i did...ever. I was afraid of heating up the cell too much. So ill fix it and ill be ready to rock.

My brushless setups are used so they better work
jamesbernatchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 09:53 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
SpeedBump57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 660
Default

No reason to discharge just get on and off the battery as fast as you can. The other joints look good.
SpeedBump57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 10:13 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Yeah i redid that joint and it all looks good! Im just waiting on my brushless hopefully tomorrow to really test out these packs!
jamesbernatchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 11:05 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
turd ferguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: tuCSoN, AZ
Posts: 1,042
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to turd ferguson
Default

double post. sorry
__________________
TrakPower, Speed Passion USA, Pro-line, Stickit1 Racing, LiveRC.com
turd ferguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 11:38 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Mr-s413bt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,731
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

First thing,

its DEFINATELY hooked up wrong! lol

those 2 thin wires are voltage sensing wires..... power going in the other side....

now, sort out some decent connector..... 6amps is alot to put the aligator clips hooked onto some 20ga wire.......
Mr-s413bt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 06:10 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I cut the clips off and am running deans for tha battery leads.
jamesbernatchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nova Mega 12 5 port Turbo Problem?? TRFTIM Nitro On-Road 2 04-17-2006 12:13 PM
Dumb Mistake Smaxxblue Monster Trucks 2 04-11-2005 06:51 PM
Turbo 35 GFX Problem Rob Phillips Electric On-Road 23 03-20-2005 02:32 PM
Turbo 35 GFX Problem Neosaka Electric On-Road 8 06-23-2004 11:39 AM
How dumb is dumb????? Kevin K Chat Lounge 4 05-28-2003 01:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net