Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Easiest way to remove the flywheel from nitro engine? >

Easiest way to remove the flywheel from nitro engine?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Easiest way to remove the flywheel from nitro engine?

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2006, 04:30 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Easiest way to remove the flywheel from nitro engine?

What is the easiest/best way to remove the flywheel from a nitro engine? They are really hard to pull off after they have been secured with the flywheel nut. I have read that it is best to use an automotive battery terminal pulling tool, but I don't have one of those. Is there an easy way to remove it without introducing undue stress to the motor shaft and flywheel? Thanks in advance for your help. I am totally new to nitro, so I am a bit clueless.
Old 08-13-2006, 05:06 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)

A battery terminal puller will work, but I find that the one I have is a bit flimsy and cheap.

I have this and it works well:
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/4098
Old 08-13-2006, 05:15 PM
Tech Rookie

The terminal puller is your best bet on removing the flywheel with out damaging anything....It is a good investment as you will use it again.
Old 08-13-2006, 05:18 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Remove the nut and then gently tap the back of the flywheel a few times in a few places with a small hammer. It should just pop off.

Do not take a big swing at it, just a few gentle taps is usually all that's needed.
Old 08-13-2006, 06:16 PM
Tech Addict

Flywheel puller!!! It will be the best 36 bucks you ever spent.......
Old 08-13-2006, 06:42 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

I use two large flat blade screw drivers, place one on each side underneath the fly wheel, and without much pressure at all it pops off! No damage to either flywheel or engine!