R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2006, 03:58 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
PAPAMAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Black Diamond, WA
Posts: 603
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default sphere/gtb question

can you run sensorless brushless motors with these esc's? i would like to put one in my mini inferno with a medusa or aon motor.
PAPAMAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 04:31 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
DUB_Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

No, sensored/sensorless systems are not compatible.
DUB_Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 04:59 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

sorta...from what I understand, you can run a sensored motor with a sensorless ESC, but not the other way around.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 10:21 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe
sorta...from what I understand, you can run a sensored motor with a sensorless ESC, but not the other way around.
Not really, because sensorless controllers don't have a sensor pickup, which is essential for the sensored version to operate.
NP-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 11:32 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NP-1
Not really, because sensorless controllers don't have a sensor pickup, which is essential for the sensored version to operate.
You can run (for example) a Novak motor with a Hacker ESC...the Hacker (or any other sensorless ESC) doesn't have or need postional or temp inputs like the Novak ESC, it just runs the phases as it sees fit.

You can't go the other way and run a Hacker motor with a Novak ESC, because the ESC will be "looking" for the position sensor to determine which phase to turn on.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP Sphere Competition Question JSJ Racing Radio and Electronics 2 05-09-2008 03:39 PM
LRP Sphere 07 question loopedout Electric On-Road 39 12-20-2007 11:25 PM
Different Between LRP sphere and the LRP sphere TC SPEC [email protected] Electric On-Road 3 09-29-2007 04:09 PM
Sphere Comp and Sphere TC Differences Paul_67 Electric On-Road 4 08-20-2007 03:27 PM
LRP SPHERE OFFROAD QUESTION mach51 Electric Off-Road 16 09-25-2006 08:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:54 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net