R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2006, 10:18 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
megasaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake City, PA
Posts: 1,716
Trader Rating: 25 (88%+)
Send a message via AIM to megasaxon Send a message via Yahoo to megasaxon
Default Is this possible

I heard a few people telling this guy that his rod broke in his motor due it being run too rich. In the 4 years that i've been runnin nitros i've never heard of this happening nor even considered tho possibility. Now the engine that blew up was a traxxas 3.3 engine, the guy was on the 6th tank of break in and i assume he was doing break in correctly because this is his 5th t-maxx...
megasaxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 01:41 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
SteveJa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Omaha
Posts: 1,100
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

you might read THIS


that might have something to do with it..........
SteveJa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 05:00 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
annie_himself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 1,268
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to annie_himself
Default

He probalby didn't heat cycle it and drove it too hard, those things are brittle on the 5th tank.
annie_himself is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 06:23 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
megasaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lake City, PA
Posts: 1,716
Trader Rating: 25 (88%+)
Send a message via AIM to megasaxon Send a message via Yahoo to megasaxon
Default

thing is they thought that too rich would put hydraulic pressure on the piston/rod assembly, thus stretching the rod out and cause it to break. this explaination seems like BS to me, but the one presented in that link seems a little more logical to me.

I always use the manufacturer's breakin instructions and the only engine i have broken a rod on was the old pro.15 had that was 3 gallons old and i was crankin the piss outta it...
megasaxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:27 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net