New to R/C. A couple noob questions.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New to R/C. A couple noob questions.

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2006, 11:44 AM
Tech Rookie

Default New to R/C. A couple noob questions.

I just recieved my electric RTR Rustler and it didnt take me long to realize I didnt have the right type of battery charger. I have a Team Orion 3300 NiMH pack and apparently the Tower Hobbies charger that I ordered only charges Nickel Cadmium packs. So now I'm looking for a very cheap NiCad/NIMH charger and was wondering if this one :

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXHJB5&P=0

would suit my needs. The only thing that worries me about this one is that it says DC only. I'm new to R/C and all electronics in general so I'm really not sure what that means. I know the power in a wall outlet is AC so does this mean I cant charge it in my house? Anyway, If this charger wont work for me a suggestion to a low price one would be great!
Old 05-22-2006, 01:29 PM
Tech Rookie

Please someone help me out. I'd really like to start running my truck.
Old 05-22-2006, 01:50 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)

First, internet forums are an evolving creature and you won't always get an instantaneous response. Give it a couple more hours without a response before freaking out.

Yes, DC-only (direct current) chargers require a 12-volt power source, like a full size car battery or a constant current power supply. You cannot plug this into a wall and charge your batteries in the house without one of the two. Just starting out, you are best off looking for a charger that is listed as AC/DC. There are a few decent options out there in the entry level range, but you will pay a little more for one with the ability to use both AC current (110v house outlets) and DC current (12v).

Someone else may be better suited to make a recommendation for an entry level charger that I would.

Good luck,

doug
Old 05-22-2006, 02:02 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)