Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By dj23tsi
  • 1 Post By dj23tsi

TLR 22 2.0 Buggy wheelies too much on carpet

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2021, 08:04 AM
Tech Rookie

Default TLR 22 2.0 Buggy wheelies too much on carpet

I just picked up a TLR 22 2.0 2WD buggy and ran it yesterday on carpet. The previous owner had it setup for carpet but I didn't like it. The steering felt super twitchy to me and it turned a lot harder in one direction than it did in other. It does not have the bellcrank steering. Its a mid motor setup with red front springs and yellow's in the rear and unknown shock oil weight. It got the aluminum front camber block and front pivot. Unfortunately I was only able to run 10-15 laps before I crashed and broke it. The hobby shop I was at didn't have the parts I needed to fix it so I wasn't able to make any adjustments to it all. I'm completely new to buggies and carpet so I'm not 100% sure where to even start to tame this thing and keep the front tires on the ground. One thing I did notice is all the other fast buggies there looked to be a lot lower than mine. I'm not sure how to lower mine anymore so I'll have to look that up. I chatted a few minutes with a guy with a fast 2WD buggy and he said ride height and shock oil weight could help a lot. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Old 03-14-2021, 07:08 PM
Tech Apprentice

Reset your buggy to stock build and go from there. Ask the fast guys at the track what setup changes they've made and see if they'll help you get yours up to spec. Buy a few sets of arms and whatever else you feel may break during your track days to keep your car up and running.
Old 03-14-2021, 10:01 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Buy a modern buggy. AT LEAST a 22 4.0 or a B6.2 carpet or b6.1 or b6.0. All those would be massive upgrades from the 2.0.