Like Tree6Likes
  • 4 Post By purplegrape
  • 1 Post By Phillip F
  • 1 Post By purplegrape

Discharging between heats

Old 01-07-2021, 01:01 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Discharging between heats

Hi guys! I'm new in 1/10 off road and i would be interested in hearing your opinions as far as discharging between heats is concerned. I've seen some drivers in our local track that discharge their batteries after each run and then charge them again. What is the point of this? Do you gain more power after your battery is discharged and charged or does it protect the life of the battery?

thanks
Old 01-07-2021, 01:44 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default Charging

Its to get the most out of your lipo. They are changing and discharging at a high amp rate. The life of the lipo doesn't last as long. Its better to charge at the recommended rate and practice first and get consistent with you car. In my opinion
Old 01-07-2021, 03:28 PM
Tech Regular

+1

Unless you're always in the hunt for the podium consistently, focus on getting more track time being smooth and not crashing/marshaling, when you can go 5 mins straight going 80% of your fast lap pace without needing help... go to 85%, 90%, 95%... when you crash or lose your line... dial it back. Never be on the ragged edge. Get a rhythm, get a pace of your own, study other people's lines, angle of attacking the jump, how they land, etc.

Expensive parts and small equipment trick/boosts are a tiny part of the equation compared to having driving skill. A good driver with the kit setup will likely beat most drivers with their setup and charging and saucing tricks.

Focus on getting around the track without needing marshaled, consistency, and getting around other drivers when they make a mistake. Better use of your time and mental energy.

Instead of messing with battery charging at high amps killing your battery faster, save your money for more track fees, track days, tires, and maintenance.