R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2006, 02:30 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 321
Default Anybody using the Spektrum Radio for Racing???

Hey All

Was wondering if anyones using these for Off-Road??? If you do, do you have any Problems(Range, or anything else)???

Thinking about getting this for either my M8 or 3PK... But would like to hear about this before I Buy One.


Thanks!!!

Brad
bgotori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 03:49 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
That0neguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 551
Default

Best investment I ever made....next to a lathe.

Ive never gone out of range...
Its not so much as twitched on me...
I love having next to no attena!!!
__________________
Hello.0
That0neguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 03:51 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9,931
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Best investment I have made too. Except for brushless
__________________
"I have no idea what you're talking about, so here's a bunny with a pancake on it's head."

In mind and body, we're all heading towards old age. It is slower to go by bike.
Davidka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 04:05 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I ran it with an M8 radio all season last summer in an 1/8 scale buggy. Never a problem. Never haveto worry about frequency conflicts, never need new crystals, no antenna in your veiw while on the stand (really nice when your neighbor on the stand has one too).
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 04:50 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
SpeedBump57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 660
Default

I would say out of all the racers I know and I know a lot 99% of them are running spektrum. We got ours when they first came out and never had a problem.
SpeedBump57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 06:14 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
OutlawPro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 113
Default

very good investment, I've had mune since they first became available never had any problems running it outside. Only problem with it is indoor on carpet sometimes with excess static.

Highly recommend.
__________________
Revo 3.3 Platinum Edition
OutlawPro3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 06:18 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
DUB_Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I race offroad with Spektrum in my M11 and it is the best investment you will ever make (except for Brushless). No glitchin, no antenna, no lag, LOTS of range. Buy one, you wont regret it.
DUB_Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 06:39 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
associatedguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Best ivestment I've made too. Next to switching from OFNA to Kyosho.
__________________
CEN Matrix FRE Buggy
Novarossi P5 with a 9886 pipe
KO Helios w/ spektrum
associatedguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 11:32 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
The_Stig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 51
Default

I have Spektrum in my M11 and LOVE it
The_Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 12:46 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Amen!

I have Spektrum, Novak brushless and Lipo...totally painless and hassle-free racing. I would never go to the track with a regular radio again...

I went to a new track the other night and when they told me they were posting the heats next to the frequency board...I said "What's that?"
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 05:51 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Tabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chile - Southamerica
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Tabushi Send a message via Yahoo to Tabushi
Default

Hi guys,


Im racing for last 5 1/2 years and just use my 3 Futaba PDF Radios, never use the expo and such cause i prefer just proportional and nothing else ...

So, i was thinking on buying this radio, it SEEMS that have all the stuff i need, what do you think ? (do you know how it worlks ?, its ok ?) ... Spektrum does not have any way to mount a module on my PDF's so i will need new radio anyway :

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=SPM2030F



thanks,
__________________
Patricio "PATO" Concha

E-Mail : [email protected]
Facebook : http://www.facebook.com/patoconcha
Whatsapp : +56 9 66165085
Tabushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 07:34 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Doughty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 318
Default

I run spektrum too, mine seems fine.

I can even run my PT on top of my receiver.

with my 40Mhz (UK) reciever if the PT went anywhere near my reciever my car would go nuts!!
__________________
Chris Doughty - Team Durango - LRP - BETA Tires - Nibbo Design
Doughty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 08:33 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
SpeedBump57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 660
Default

Tabushi there is a lot of bang for the buck there. The only thing I didn't like about the raideo was the fact it only had 3 model memory. What were they thinking? Most others have at least 6. But if you don't need more than 3 its a good buy.
SpeedBump57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 08:58 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
That0neguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 551
Default

I use the DX3.Its awsome.
__________________
Hello.0
That0neguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:08 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Tubaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Riverton, WY
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I use Spektrum in my M8 and it works great. Last year at our state race, about 10 of us had them and they worked without flaws all weekend long.
__________________
www.wyomingrc.com | www.wyomingmodelerspark.com
Tubaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 DTX ICE - Car stands, 8000 7.4 lipos, B4 Spares, Tires, 3PK radio M8 radio spektrum racer34v R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 07-16-2008 06:10 AM
JR Racing R-1 radio, Case, Spektrum, more.... 98zr2man R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-27-2008 08:39 PM
swap ko propo helios radio with spektrum pro for 3pk super with spektrum pro willabong Australia Wanted to Buy 0 04-01-2007 05:39 AM
Wanted Spektrum (not spektrum brand) radio and receiver gndprx R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 10 12-16-2006 07:19 PM
WTB: Good Radio with SPEKTRUM or SPEKTRUM DX3 viet_mafia Australia Wanted to Buy 5 02-02-2006 10:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net