Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
high speed on low kv motor and nimh 8.4v please help! >

high speed on low kv motor and nimh 8.4v please help!

high speed on low kv motor and nimh 8.4v please help!

Old 08-13-2020, 02:34 AM
Tech Rookie

Post high speed on low kv motor and nimh 8.4v please help!

hi guys, I'm new to this forum and this is my first thread please go easy on me.

So my university wants us to make a electric rc car which can do 100kmph but due to the budget and rule of using only a nimh battery i am not sure how to go with this
so far i have decided to go with a low kv motor 3300kv or 4000kv with a 60 amp esc and do a bigger pinion gear and smaller spur gear.
its a grass field where we will be racing, not yet decided to do 1/10 or 1/8. we have to design the chassis our self as well.
any advice on mad gear ratios as its just a 50 meter straight track. and have to do 5 laps.
I'm new to this field and any help or advice would mean a lot

thanks a lot guys!
Old 08-13-2020, 03:01 AM
Tech Elite

so 62 mph in the US speed .. on a grass track.. My hats off to you if you can do this .its going to be a real challenge to do this...bummer you wont be able to post pics or a video .. send some 1 a link to a vid of this challenge when its done.i looked back at this reading 50 meter track and had to do 5 laps..then I read its a straight track so down and back...
Old 08-13-2020, 03:21 AM
Tech Elite

impossible
Old 08-13-2020, 05:32 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

How tall is the pinion to achieve those speeds?? How large is the motor, physical size?
Old 08-14-2020, 05:41 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 32 (97%+)

Just keep slapping on additional NiMh cells until you reach the max voltage that the ESC is rated to handle, if possible I would get this 60A ESC here which is rated to handle up to 15S-NiMh:
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/hobbykin...en_us_products